Licensing Frequently Asked Questions

​Last Updated: October 6, 2017

Residents

  1. How do I apply for a license in Wisconsin?
  2. How long does it take to get my license?
  3. What if I apply for the wrong license type?
  4. How do I renew my license?
  5. What happens if I fail to renew my license?
  6. How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled within the last 12 months?
  7. How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled for more than one year?
  8. If I move to Wisconsin to become a resident and already have a nonresident Wisconsin license, what are the licensing requirements?
  9. Do I need a license to sell variable products in Wisconsin?
  10. Can I find my licensing information on-line?
  11. Do I need to be licensed to receive commissions?
  12. What state exam do I need to take?
  13. Can I get my fingerprints taken with my local police department?
  14. Do I need a 1033 Felony Waiver?

[Back to Top]


Nonresidents

  1. How do I apply for a nonresident license?
  2. How long does it take to get my license?
  3. What if I apply for the wrong license type?
  4. How do I renew my license?
  5. What happens if I fail to renew my license?
  6. How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled within the last 12 months?
  7. How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled for more than one year?
  8. If I currently hold a nonresident license in Wisconsin and move to another state, does anything happen to my license?
  9. Do I need a license to sell variable products in Wisconsin?
  10. Can I find my licensing information on-line?

[Back to Top]


Business Entities/Firms

  1. Does my agency need to be licensed?
  2. How do I apply for an intermediary firm license?
  3. Does the firm have any lines of authority?
  4. Are agency personnel required to be licensed?
  5. Does our Designated Responsible Licensed Producer (DRLP) need to be licensed?
  6. Can I find my licensing information on-line?
  7. Can I obtain a list of licensed agents?
  8. Can the firm receive commissions?

[Back to Top]


Continuing Education

  1. How many credits do I need to renew my license?
  2. Do nonresidents need continuing education?
  3. Can I take the same course I took before?
  4. Do CE credits carry over?
  5. How do I print my CE transcript?

[Back to Top]


Company Appointment Renewal Billing

  1. When do I get my appointment renewal invoice?
  2. How do I reconcile my invoice?
  3. How do I pay my invoice?
  4. What if I have problems paying my invoice?
  5. What happens if I don't pay the invoice?

[Back to Top]