Last Updated: January 18, 2023
Applying for an Individual Resident Insurance License
Wisconsin Candidate Information Bulletin for detailed information about the examination and licensing processes for obtaining a resident intermediary license.
If required by the license type, complete prelicensing education from a Wisconsin-approved education provider and obtain a certificate of prelicensing course completion to bring to your exam. View a list of
Prelicensing Providers and Course Offerings . Prelicensing course completion is valid for only one year.
Make a reservation with Fieldprint at
fieldprintwisconsin.com for your digital fingerprinting. Fingerprinting information is valid for only 180 days. Use Fieldprint code
FPWIOCIINSURANCE when scheduling your appointment.
Contact PSI to schedule an exam reservation. The easiest way to register is online at
PSI WI exams or by phone 888-818-5805. Candidates may
click here to check for available appointments and locations before you register and provide payment.
Review the examination content outlines in the Wisconsin Candidate Information Bulletin . The content outlines are the basis for the exams. You can also find the exam content outlines in the
Candidate Information Bulletin above.
Practice tests are available and can be taken prior to taking your state exam.
You must bring two forms of identification and your prelicensing course completion certificate to the test center in order to take the exam. The exam score result(s) will be available immediately after completing the exam(s).
Apply for your license via NIPR at
nipr.com or an NIPR authorized business partner. Choose the
license type that corresponds to the type of insurance you wish to sell. You must wait 48-72 hours after passing the examination for exam scores to be recorded with NIPR before you will be allowed to submit the electronic application.
If you cannot find the license type or line of authority (loa) you wish to apply for, make sure any previous order(s) are removed/deleted. Start the NIPR application process again, and your license type/loa should appear. If not, please contact NIPR Customer Service for assistance.
If you have administrative actions against you in any state—even if they are not recent—be sure to disclose them on the license application. Also disclose any child support or tax delinquencies, or any criminal charges or convictions. If you are unsure whether something needs to be reported, we encourage you to err on the side of reporting. You will avoid a license denial based on your failure to report.
Applications can be processed within 24 to 48 hours; however, if your application has been deferred to the state for further review, the processing time could be delayed.
Once your application has been submitted to the State of Wisconsin, you will have 90 days to submit any required information/requirements. Failure to supply the required documentation will cause your application to be CLOSED as EXPIRED. Fees are non-refundable.
If you applied for a license type in error, you will need to submit a written request to our office requesting the withdrawal of the application. The application process and the withdrawal of the application represent an administrative expense for the agency and, therefore, the fees are non-refundable.
Please refer to our Helpful Tips for Completing the Agent Licensing Application. Our office encourages companies, agents, and providers to refer to this document in order to help make the application process easier.
[Back to Top]
Reporting Requirements of an Intermediary (Agent)
All licensed agents in Wisconsin must report the following within 30 days per
s. Ins 6.61 (16), Wis. Adm. Code :
Except for action taken by the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, any formal administrative action against the intermediary taken by any state's insurance regulatory agency, commission or board or other regulatory agency which licenses the person for any occupational activity. The notification shall include a description of the basis for the administrative action and any action taken as a result of the proceeding, a copy of the notice of hearing and other documents describing the problem, a copy of the order, consent to order, stipulation, final resolution and other relevant documents.
Any initial pretrial hearing date related to any criminal prosecution of the intermediary taken in any jurisdiction, other than a misdemeanor charge related to the use of a motor vehicle or the violation of a fish and game regulation. The notification shall include a copy of the initial criminal complaint filed, the order resulting from the hearing and any other relevant legal documents.
Any felony conviction or misdemeanor conviction in any jurisdiction, other than a misdemeanor conviction related to the use of a motor vehicle or the violation of a fish and game regulation. The notification shall include a copy of the initial criminal complaint or criminal charging document filed, the judgement of conviction, the sentencing document, the intermediary's explanation of what happened to cause criminal proceedings, the intermediary's reasons why no action should be taken regarding the intermediary's license and any other relevant legal documents.
Any lawsuit filed against the licensee or the licensee's business in which there are allegations of misrepresentation, fraud, theft or embezzlement involving the licensee or the licensee's business. The notification shall include a copy of the initial suit documents, the intermediary's explanation of what happened to cause the civil proceedings, the intermediary's reasons why no action should be taken regarding the intermediary's license and any other relevant legal documents.
Disclosures may be submitted through the
NIPR Attachments Warehouse , mail, fax, or via email at
[Back to Top]