Reinsurance Individual/Firm License

​​Last Updated: October 6, 2017

Reinsurance Intermediary-Broker

Wisconsin law defines a reinsurance intermediary-broker as any person, other than an officer or employee of the ceding insurer, who solicits, negotiates, or places reinsurance cession or retrocessions on behalf of a ceding insurer. For more information refer to s. Ins 47.03, Wis. Adm. Code ​​ .

No person may act as a reinsurance intermediary-broker:

  • In this state unless the reinsurance intermediary-broker is licensed as a reinsurance intermediary-broker.
  • In another state unless the reinsurance intermediary-broker is licensed as a reinsurance intermediary-broker in this state or for that function in another state having a law or rule substantially similar to Wisconsin.

Initial Application Requirements

  1. Nonresident applicants must hold reciprocal license in home state.
  2. Apply online at nipr.com or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .
  3. Pay license fee of $75.

Renewal Requirements

Online license renewals open 60 days prior to expiration.

  1. Renew via nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .
  2. Use National Producer Number (NPN) when renewing (look up NPN ​​). Wisconsin is now using the NPN as your license number and your National Producer Number.
  3. Pay biennial license renewal fee of $35 for residents or $70 for nonresidents.

Please Note: Reinsurance licenses are not eligible for reinstatement. If your license becomes inactive, you must re-apply via nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .

Applicants Please Read: Once your application has been submitted to the State of Wisconsin, you will have 90 days to submit any required information/requirements. Failure to supply the required documentation will cause your application to be CLOSED as EXPIRED. Fees are non-refundable.


Reinsurance Intermediary-Manager

A reinsurance intermediary-manager means any person who has authority to bind, manages a separate division, department or underwriting office with responsibility for, or manages all or part of, assumed reinsurance business of a reinsurer and acts as an agent for the insurer. For more information refer to s. Ins 47.06, Wis. Adm. Code ​​.

No person may act as a reinsurance intermediary-manager:

  • For reinsurer domiciled in this state unless the person is a licensed reinsurance intermediary-manager.
  • In another state for a nondomestic insurer unless the person is licensed as a reinsurance intermediary-manager in this state or for that function in another state having a law substantially similar to Wisconsin.

Initial Application Requirements

  1. Nonresident applicants must hold reciprocal license in home state.
  2. Apply online at nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .
  3. Pay license fee of $75.

Renewal Requirements

Online license renewals open 60 days prior to expiration.

  1. Renew via nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .
  2. Use National Producer Number (NPN) when renewing (look up NPN ​​). Wisconsin is now using the NPN as your license number and your National Producer Number.
  3. Pay biennial license renewal fee of $35 for residents or $70 for nonresidents.

Please Note: Reinsurance licenses are not eligible for reinstatement. If your license becomes inactive, you must re-apply via nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .

Applicants Please Read: Once your application has been submitted to the State of Wisconsin, you will have 90 days to submit any required information/requirements. Failure to supply the required documentation will cause your application to be CLOSED as EXPIRED. Fees are non-refundable.


Reinsurance Intermediary-Firm

Reinsurance intermediary firms are required to hold a license in Wisconsin. An individual is not required to be licensed as a reinsurance intermediary-broker if the individual is a member or employee of a firm or association licensed as a reinsurance intermediary or is an officer, director or employee of a corporation licensed as an intermediary; however, the individual must hold an individual intermediary (producer) license in order to be a designated responsibile licensed producer (DRLP) for the reinsurance intermediary firm.

For more information refer to ch. Ins 47, Wis. Adm. Code ​​.

Initial Application Requirements

  1. Must designate DRLP to comply with the insurance laws, rules and regulations of this state.
  2. Nonresidents must have a reciprocal resident reinsurance firm license.
  3. Apply via nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .
  4. Pay initial license renewal fee of $100.

Renewal Requirements

Reinsurance firms renew on February 15th of the following even-numbered year. Online license renewals open 60 days prior to expiration.

  1. Renew via nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .
  2. Pay biennial license renewal fee of $100.

Please Note: Business Entity Licenses are not eligible for reinstatement. Entity must re-apply via nipr.com ​​ or through an NIPR auth​orized business partner .​ and pay the initial licensing fee of $100.

Applicants Please Read: Once your application has been submitted to the State of Wisconsin, you will have 90 days to submit any required information/requirements. Failure to supply the required documentation will cause your application to be CLOSED as EXPIRED. Fees are non-refundable.