Public Adjuster

​​​​​Last Updated July 1, 2020

Public Adjuster License

Effective July 1, 2020, the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance will register/license public adjusters in Wisconsin per Wisconsin Act 129​. ​

A public adjuster is defined as an individual who engages in adjusting services in this state and in the case of an individual who is not a resident of this state, has registered with the commission under s. 629.02 (2), Wis. Stat.​, but does not include any of the following:

  • ​An attorney​ admitted to practice in this state while acting in his or her professional capacity as an attorney.
  • An individual who negotiates or settles claims arising under a life insurance policy, a policy of disability insurance, as defined in s. 645.675(1)(h), Wis. Stat., or an annuity contract.
  • An individual employed solely for the purpose of obtaining facts surrounding a loss of furnishing technical assistance to the public adjuster, including a photographer, estimator, private investigator, engineer, or handwriting expert.
  • An individual who settles subrogation claims between insurers.
  • An individual who is licensed as an intermediary under s. 628.04, Wis. Stat. or s. 628.09, Wis. Stat. while acting in his or her professional capacity as an intermediary.
  • An individual who represents an insurer in negotiations for the settlement of a claim against the insurer arising out of the coverage provided by an insurance policy.
Adjusting services means to act on behalf of an insured, exchange for compensation, with the preparation, completion, or filing of a first-party claim including by negotiating values, damages, or depreciation or by appling the loss circumstances to insurance policy provisions.

For more information, please refer to s. 629, Wis. Stat.
​​[Back to Top]

Resident Initial Application Requirements

Residents of Wisconsin may (but are not required to) apply for a public adjuster license following the steps below:

  1. Download and review the Wisconsin Candidate Information Bulletin​ for detailed information. 
  2. ​Contact PSI to schedule an exam reservation. The exam Fee is $​50. The easiest way to register is online at home.psiexams.com or by phone at 800-733-9267.
  3. Review the examination content outline for public adjuster located in the Wisconsin Candidate Information Bulletin​. You may also take practice tests prior to taking your state exam.
  4. You must bring at least two forms of identification to the test center in order to take the exam. The exam score result(s) will be available after completing the exam(s).
  5. Apply for your license via NIPR at nipr.com​ or through an authorized NIPR business partner. The application fee is $50 plus a NIPR processing fee. You must wait 48 to 72 hours after passing the examination for exam scores to be recorded with NIPR before you will be allowed to submit the electronic application.​
If you cannot find the license type you wish to apply for, make sure any previous order(s) are removed/deleted. Start the NIPR application process again, and your license type should appear. If not, please contact NIPR Customer Service for assistance.

If you have administrative action against you in any state, even if they are not recent, be sure to disclose them on the license application. Also disclose any child support or tax delinquencies, or any criminal charges or convictions. If you are unsure whether something needs to be reported, we encourage you to err on the side of reporting. You will avoid a license denial based on your failure to report.

Once the application has been submitted, the following is required to be submitted before the application will be processed:

  1. A new original performance bond (signed and sealed). See bond requirements section.
  2. Applicant must submit the following to ociagentlicensing@wisconsin.gov
    • ​Address of home office in state of residence
    • A written statement attesting to your availability to the public through reasonable appointment or regular business hours.​​
Once your application has been submitted to OCI, you will have 90 days to submit any required information/requirements. Failure to supply the required documentation will cause your application to be CLOSED as EXPIRED. Fees are non-refundable.

If you applied for a license type in error, you will need to submit a written request to our office requesting the withdrawal of the application. The application process and the withdrawal of the application represent an administrative expense for the agency and, therefore, the fees are non-refundable.


Nonresident Initial Application Requirements

Nonresidents are required ​to be licensed in Wisconsin prior to engaging in adjusting services in this state.​

Nonresident applicants must have passed a written examination in their home state to obtain licensure/registration in Wisconsin or if your home state does not license public adjusters, individuals must then complete the Wisconsin public adjuster exam through PSI (see above). The commissioner may request proof of a passing exam in order to verify examination requirement.

Nonresidents of Wisconsin may apply for public adjuster license by submitting an application via NIPR at nipr.com or through an authorized business partner. The application fee is $50 plus a NIPR processing fee.

Once the application has been submitted, the following is required to be submitted before the application will be processed:
  1. A new original performance bond (signed and sealed). See bond requirements section.
  2. Applicant must submit the following to ociagentlicensing@wisconsin.gov.​
    • ​Address of home office in state of residence
    • A written statement attesting to your availability to the public through reasonable appointment or regular business hours.​​​

​Bond Requirements

Prior to issuance of a license as a public adjuster and for the duration of the license, the applicant shall secure evidence of financial responsibility in a format prescribed by the insurance commissioner through bond per s. 629.082, Wis. Stat.

A bond executed and issued by an insurer authorized to issue surety bonds in this state, which bond:

  • Shall be in the minimum amount of $20,0000;
  • Shall be favor of this state and shall specifically authorize recovery by the commissioner on behalf of any person in this state who sustained damages as the results of erroneous acts, failure to act, conviction of fraud, or conviction of unfair practices in his or her capacity as a public adjuster; and
  • Shall not be terminated unless at least 30 days prior written notice will have been filed with the commissioner and give to the licensee.

An OCI Bond Template​​ has been created and can be used to satisfy the bond requirement.

​[Back to Top]

Resident Renewal of License and Continuing Education Requirements

Public adjusters renew every two years from the date of issuance on the last day of that month. Resident public adjuster must complete on a biennial basis, a minimum of 15 credits of continuing education (CE), including three credits of ethics per s. 629.11, Wis. Sta​t​.

Public adjusters are encouraged to complete CE courses online to avoid delay in renewing their insurance licenses. The following link contains information regarding online CE options: https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/

Public adjuster licenses are available to renew 60 days prior to the license expiration date. CE must be completed and submitted to OCI by the education providers prior to submitting your renewal application. The renewal application can be submitted via NIPR at nipr.com. The renewal fee is $50 plus a NIPR processing fee.

Public adjuster licenses are not eligible for reinstatement. If the license renewal is not paid by the expiration date, the license will be canceled and you must re-apply, pay applicable fees, and submit required documentation. 

​[Back to Top]​

Nonresident Renewal of License and Continuing Education Requirements

Nonresident public adjuster renew every two years from the date of issuance on the last day of that month. Nonresident public adjusters who comply with CE requirements in their home state that are substantially similar to the requirements in Wisconsin will satisfy CE requirement in this state per s. 629.11 (2), Wis. Stat​.

If your resident state does NOT have CE requirements, you must complete Wisconsin CE requirements in order to renew your license. You will be required to complete 15 credits of CE, including 3 credits of ethics per s. 629.11, Wis. Stat.

The following link contains information regarding online CE options:https://sbs.naic.org/solar-external-lookup/​.

Public adjuster licenses are available to renew 60 days prior to the license expiration date. CE must be completed and submitted to OCI by the education provider prior to submitting your renewal application. The renewal application can be submitted via NIPR at nipr.com. The renewal fee is $50 plus a NIPR processing fee.

Public adjuster licenses are not eligible for reinstatement. If the license renewal is not paid by the expiration date, the license will be canceled and you must reapply, pay applicable fees, and submit required documentation.

[Back to Top]

Reporting Requirements​​

All public adjusters working in Wisconsin must report the following within 30 days per s.629.12 Wis. Stat​.

  • Any administrative action related to the business of insurance that is taken against the public adjuster by a governmental agency or regulatory body. The report shall be made no later than 30 days after the final disposition of the matter and shall include a copy of the order, consent to order, or similar document.

  • Any criminal prosecution taken against the public adjuster in any jurisdiction. The report shall be made no later than 30 days after the date of the initial pretrial hearing and shall include a copy of the complaint, the order from the hearing, and any other information required by the commissioner.

  • OCI recommends all adjusters report any address changes, name changes, or any other changes that were initially submitted on original license application to be reported within 30 days.

​​​[Back to Top]

​Li​st of Licensed Public Adjusters

OCI is required by s. 629.02 (1), Wis. Stat. to maintain a list of public adjusters registered with our office available to the public. 

Nonresident public adjusters are required to obtain the license and will be listed. Wisconsin resident public adjusters will not appear on the list unless they chose to apply for a license with OCI. If you are a resident public adjuster and you would like your name to appear on this list, follow the instructions to obtain a license.

To look up look up licensed Public Adjusters in Wisconsin click here. You will need to make sure to ​select advanced criteria to choose the specific license type and active license status.

​Public Adjuster Contract Requirements

​Public adjusters are required to file their contracts with OCI prior to performing any adjusting service for an insured per s. 629.04 (1), Wis. Stat. Please refer to the Policy Forms and Rates Filings portion of our website for a guide on submitting the contract filing to our office. Select the Public Adjuster Form Filing Checklist for details on specific filing requirements. 

[Back to Top]