Press Release, March 21, 2019 - Gov. Evers Honors 13 Recipients of 2018 Financial Literacy Award in Capitol Ceremony

March 21, 2019

Olivia Hwang, Office of the Commissioner of Insurance, (608) 209-6309
Melanie Conklin, Department of Financial Institutions, (608) 261-4504


Governor Evers Honors 13 Recipients of 2018 Financial Literacy Award in Capitol Ceremony


Madison, Wis.—Governor Tony Evers today honored 13 individuals, businesses, and organizations as recipients of the 2018 Governor's Financial Literacy Award in a ceremony at the State Capitol.

“Financial literacy skill training is something we all need throughout our lives from elementary school to the workplace to retirement," Evers said. “The dedication of these individuals and groups to helping the people of Wisconsin become financially secure and achieve their dreams is commendable."

The recipients were selected by the Governor's Council on Financial Literacy from the nominations submitted for consideration. Criteria weighed during the screening process included innovative implementation, demonstrated measurable results, collaboration with partners, and whether the effort was focused on needs-based groups.

Recipients of the 2018 Governor's Financial Literacy Awards are:

Individual Category:

  • Wacinque Amistad Kaizen BeMende, volunteer, Military Thrift Savings Plan
  • Kerri Herrild, teacher, DePere High School 
  • Nicholas Manogue, teacher, Milton High School
  • Heather R. Mielke, teacher, Burlington High School
  • Terrica Peyton, volunteer/coach, Madison Metropolitan School District

Organization Category:

  • Chippewa Valley Technical College (CVTC), Eau Claire
  • Financial Literacy Free Day, Money Smart Week, Fox Cities
  • Housing Authority of the City of Milwaukee (HACM), Milwaukee
  • Next Gen Personal Finance, Statewide
  • Office for the Advancement of Free Enterprise Education (OAFEE) at Lakeland University, Milwaukee
  • Sallie Mae, “Bridging the Dream Tour and College Fair," Statewide

Legacy Category:

  • Vicki J. Hoehn, Royal Credit Union's Vice President of Community Engagement,
    Eau Claire
  • Junior Achievement of Wisconsin

The Legacy Award is given to an organization, business, or individual whose purpose and heritage is ingrained in sustained financial literacy and capability. This lifetime recognition is intended to be conferred once to the recipients. Synopses of the recipients' efforts can be found on the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) website:​nalFinance/CouncilOnFinancialLiteracyCapability.aspx​

Shortly after his inauguration Gov. Evers continued the Governor's Council on Financial Literacy, which held its first meeting in April 2011. The mission of the Council is to measurably improve the financial literacy of Wisconsin residents.

Wisconsin's First Lady Kathy Evers graciously volunteered to be the ambassador for the Council on Financial Literacy. She shares an interest in DFI's mission of spreading information on student aid for collegiate and training programs.

Council members include:

  • ChairWendy Baumann, President/Chief Visionary Officer, Wisconsin Women's Business Initiative, Inc.
  • Co-Vice Chair – Kathy Blumenfeld, Secretary of the Department of Financial Institutions
  • Co-Vice Chair – Mark Afable, Commissioner of the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
  • Executive Director – David Mancl, Director of DFI's Office of Financial Literacy