Wisconsin Office of the

COMMISSIONER Tony Evers, Governor of Wisconsin
OF | N S U RAN C E Nathan Houdek, Commissioner of Insurance
DATE: September 28, 2023
TO: All Insurers Authorized to Write Credit Life and/or Credit Accident and Sickness
Insurance
FROM: Nathan Houdek, Commissioner of Insurance
SUBJECT: Revised Prima Facie Credit Life and Credit Accident and Sickness Insurance Rates

Section Ins 3.25 (13) (c), Wis. Adm. Code, provides that on or before October 1, 1990, and each three
years after that the Commissioner shall give written notice to all authorized insurers specifying the
prima facie rates to be effective for the three-year period beginning on the next January 1.

The periodic adjustment of the credit life rates is based only on differences in claim costs. The result
is a new basic loss ratio that fulfills the presumption that benefits are reasonable to the premiums
charged, as required by s. 424.209 (1), Wis. Stat. Therefore, please consider this bulletin as written
notice of the new basic loss ratio of 45% for credit life insurance and the new prima facie rates for
credit life insurance and credit accident and sickness insurance to become effective for the three-
year period beginning on January 1, 2024.

Prima Facie Credit Life Insurance Premium Rates

Single premium straight-line decreasing single life insurance—$0.43 per annum per $100 of initial
insured indebtedness

Single premium level life insurance on a single life—$0.80 per annum per $100 of initial insured
indebtedness

Monthly premium rate on the outstanding insured balance basis for term insurance on a single life—
$0.662 per month per $1,000 of outstanding insured indebtedness

Joint life insurance—167% of the corresponding single life premium rate, which develops
corresponding joint life rates of:

Joint uniformly decreasing term—$0.72 per annum per $100 of initial insured indebtedness

Joint level life—$1.34 per annum per $100 of initial insured indebtedness
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Joint monthly outstanding balance—$1.106 per month per $1,000 of outstanding insured
indebtedness

Prima Facie Credit Accident and Sickness Premium Rates

14-Day Retroactive Coverage—Multiply the existing prima facie rates by an adjustment factor of
0.79, rounded to the nearest cent

14-Day Nonretroactive Coverage—Multiply the existing prima facie rates by an adjustment factor of
0.79, rounded to the nearest cent

30-Day Retroactive Coverage—Multiply the existing prima facie rates by an adjustment factor of 2.02
rounded to the nearest cent

30-Day Nonretroactive Coverage—Multiply the existing prima facie rates by an adjustment factor of
2.02 rounded to the nearest cent

A table of credit accident and sickness rates is available on our website.

Before January 1 of the year the new rates become effective, insurers who use these rates are
required to make a rate filing adopting these rates. No documentation is required. Use the NAIC
uniform transmittal document to submit both initial rate filings and subsequent rate change filings.
It is recommended that rate filings for credit life and disability be submitted no less than 30 days
before the requested effective date. (See s. Ins. 3.25 (12), Wis. Adm. Code.)

Any questions regarding rate filings should be directed to Brian Brown at
Brian.Brown@Wisconsin.gov. Thank you for your cooperation.
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