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 State of Wisconsin 
 Office of the Commissioner of Insurance May 2012 
   

Form Filing Checklist - –Automobile Insurance 
 

Section 632.32, Wis. Stat., applies to automobile policies providing liability coverages . 
 

See Ins 6.05, Wis. Adm. Code, For Requirements to File Insurance Forms 
 

DISCLOSURE 
 
The form filing checklists are intended only as guides for submitting various policy forms to the Office of the 
Commissioner of Insurance.  The checklists are summaries, and are not intended as an OCI directive nor to interpret 
or address technical legal questions. Although efforts have been made to ensure that the checklists are current and 
accurate, information is subject to change on a regular basis without prior notice.   
 
 
ALL P&C Coverages, applicable to Wisconsin, as set forth in the NAIC Uniform Property & Casualty Product 
Coding Matrix.  The matrix can be found at http://www.naic.org/documents/industry_rates_pc_matrix.pdf. ** 
 
THE FOLLOWING CHECKLIST IS IN ADDITION TO THE P&C FORM FILING CHECKLIST WHICH CAN BE 
FOUND AT:  http://oci.wi.gov/ociforms/pcfileck.pdf  
 
Section 632.32, Wis. Stat., applies to motor vehicle insurance policies providing liability coverages. 
 
(Unless otherwise noted, the citations referenced in the second column are Wisconsin statute numbers.) 
Automobile Insurance – 
Additional Policy Form 
Requirements 

Reference Comments 

Minimum liability limits 344.01(2)(d) 
 

Effective 11/1/11, the minimum liability limits are 25/50/10 or 60 CSL. 

Mid-term cancellation for 
loss of driver’s license 

631.36 (2) (a) 2 
and Ins 6.54 (3) 
(a), Wis. Adm. 
Code 

A mid-term cancellation of an auto policy for a suspension, revocation, 
or loss of a driver's license satisfies this section of 631.36 as long as the 
suspension, etc., occurred within 180 days prior to the effective date of 
the policy and is a result of a motor vehicle violation vs. a non-motor 
vehicle violation.  

Coverage applies to all 
persons responsible for use 
(no named driver 
exclusion) 

632.32 (3) (a) Coverage applies in the same manner for insured and any person legally 
responsible for use of the vehicle.  Policies for physical damage only 
can exclude drivers and must show this exclusion. 

Uninsured Motorist (UM)  632.32 (2) (f) & 
(g) 

Auto policy language must use these definitions for uninsured motorist 
coverage and uninsured motor vehicle.  UM coverage must be included 
with limits of at least 25/50 in any personal or commercial auto policy 
providing liability coverage. 

Medical Payments 
Coverage 

632.32 (2) (am) 
& (4)  

Excluding a policy written by a town mutual organized under ch. 612, 
Medical payments coverage must be included with limits of at least 
$1,000 in any personal or commercial auto policy providing liability 
coverage, unless the insured rejects medical payments coverage.  
Medical payments coverage must include chiropractic coverage. 

Underinsured Motorist 
(UIM) 

632.32 (2)(d) & 
(4m) 

Auto policy language must use this definition for underinsured motorist 
coverage.  UIM must be offered and provided with limits of at least 
50/100 for personal and commercial auto policies providing liability 
coverage, unless the insured rejects UIM coverage.  

Exemptions from Med 
Payments, Uninsured 
Motorist & Underinsured 
Motorist Coverage 
requirements 

632.32 (4)(d) & 
(4m)(e) 

Commercial liability policies with incidental motor vehicle coverage 
that is limited to non-owned vehicles and umbrella/excess liability 
policies are exempt from the Medical Payments, UM and UIM 
requirements. Commercial automobile liability policies are not exempt 
from the requirements. 

http://www.naic.org/documents/industry_rates_pc_matrix.pdf
http://oci.wi.gov/ociforms/pcfileck.pdf
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Automobile Insurance – 
Additional Policy Form 
Requirements 

Reference Comments 

Permissive use 632.32 (5) (a) Policy may limit coverage to use of vehicle with permission of named 
insured or adult member of insured's household. 

Coverage for motor vehicle 
handlers when policy 
issued to others 

632.32 (5) (b) Policy issued to other than motor vehicle handlers may limit coverage 
for motor vehicle handlers to the financial responsibility minimums 
required by s. 344.01 (2) (d), Wis. Stat. 

Coverage for others when 
policy issued to motor 
vehicle handlers 

632.32 (5) (c) Policy issued to motor vehicle handler may limit coverage to anyone 
other than the motor vehicle handler to the financial responsibility 
minimums required by s. 344.01 (2) (d), Wis. Stat. 

Anti-stacking allowed 632.32(5)(f) & 
(g) 

Auto policy language may prohibit stacking. 

UM or UIM liability 
reducing clause 

632.32 (5)(i) UM or UIM coverages may be reduced by amounts paid or payable 
from other sources including the amounts paid or payable under the 
liability coverage of the policy. 

Drive Other Car Exclusions 
- All coverages 

632.32(5)(j) Allows “drive-other-car” exclusions as long as the vehicle meets all of 
the following conditions: 1) is owned by the named insured, spouse, or 
relative living in the named insured’s household, 2) is not described in 
the policy, and 3) is not a newly acquired or replacement vehicle as 
defined in the policy. 

Coverage for motor vehicle 
handlers’ officers, agents 
or employees 

632.32 (6) (b) Policy issued to a motor vehicle handler may not exclude coverage for 
its officers, agents or employees when using customer’s vehicle. 

Intra-familty liability 
exclusion prohibited 

632.32 (6) (b) 1 Intra-family liability exclusion is not allowed. Policy may not exclude 
coverage for persons related by blood, marriage or adoption to the 
insured. 

Named insured or 
passengers exclusion 
prohibited 

632.32 (6) (b) 2 Policy cannot exclude named insured or passengers in or on the insured 
vehicle. 

Age exclusion prohibited 632.32 (6) (b) 3 Policy cannot exclude persons solely for reasons of age if old enough to 
drive. 

Unlawful purposes 
exclusions prohibited 

632.32 (6) (b) 4 Policy cannot exclude coverage for use of motor vehicle for unlawful 
purposes, transportation of liquor, or while driver is under the influence 
of an intoxicant or a controlled substance. 

Notice of accident 632.32 (6) (c) May not limit time for giving notice of accident to less than 20 days. 
Prohibited rejection, 
cancellation and non-
renewal 

632.35 May not reject, cancel or non-renew because of age, sex, residence, 
race, color, creed, religion, national origin, ancestry, marital status or 
occupation. 

Rating for accidents in the 
course of business or 
employment 

632.36 An insurer may charge a higher rate, cancel or nonrenew a motor 
vehicle liability policy on the basis of an accident which occurs while 
the insured is operating a motor vehicle in the course of the insured’s 
business or employment only if the policy covers the insured for 
liability arising in the course of the insured’s business or employment. 

Prohibited basis for 
assessing risk 

632.355 An insurer may not place an applicant or insured in a high-risk category 
on the basis that the applicant or insured has not previously had motor 
vehicle insurance. 

Applications Ins 6.54 (3) (a) 
and (b), Wis. 
Adm. Code 

Applications should not ask about criminal convictions unless the crime 
relates to the risk. 

Exclusions relating to 
family members of the 
named non-owner 
prohibited 

Court Case Cannot exclude coverage for family members of the named non-owner 
insured per the Wisconsin Supreme Court decision, Bindrim v. Colonial 
Insurance Company, 190 Wis. 2d 525. 
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Automobile Insurance – 
Additional Policy Form 
Requirements 

Reference Comments 

Intentional acts exclusion – 
auto liability coverage 

Court Case Pursuant to Wisconsin Supreme Court decision, Ludwig v. Dulian and 
Germantown Mutual Insurance Company, 217 Wis. 2d 782, insurers 
may not exclude intentional acts unless the injury or damage is 
“substantially certain” to follow from what the insured does.  OCI will 
allow exclusion language that is substantially similar to the following: 
“Bodily injury or property damage caused intentionally by, or at the 
direction of, and substantially certain to follow from the act of an 
insured person, even if the actual injury or damage is different than that 
which was expected or intended.” 

 


	ALL P&C Coverages, applicable to Wisconsin, as set forth in the NAIC Uniform Property & Casualty Product Coding Matrix.  The matrix can be found at http://www.naic.org/documents/industry_rates_pc_matrix.pdf. **

