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What is the autism 
mandate?
Wisconsin law requires health 
insurers to cover certain treatments 
for individuals with autism spectrum 
disorders. Specifically, coverage 
of at least $50,000 is required for 
intensive-level services per year for up 
to four years and at least $25,000 for 
nonintensive-level services, adjusted 
annually by the Consumer Price Index 
(CPI). (s 632.895 (12m) (c) 1, Wis. Stat.)
For 2020, insurers must provide 
coverage of at least $64,897 for 
intensive-level services and $32,448 
for nonintensive-level services. 
Each December, the Office of the 
Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) 
publishes the adjusted coverage 
amounts effective for the following year. 

Does this mandate apply to 
all health care coverage?
The statute applies to:
•	 Group and individual disability (health) 

insurance policies.
•	 Self-insured health plans sponsored 

by the state, county, city, town, village, 
or school district providing coverage 
to dependents.

The statute does NOT apply to:
•	 Disability (health) insurance policies 

covering only certain specified 
diseases such as cancer.

•	 A health care plan offered by a 
limited service health organization or 
preferred provider plan that is not also 
a defined network plan.

•	 A long-term care insurance policy.
•	 A Medicare replacement policy or a 

Medicare supplement policy.
•	 A self-funded health benefit plan from 

an employer that’s subject to federal 
jurisdiction.  

•	 Group health plans issued in 
another state covering employees in 
Wisconsin, unless at least 25% of the 
employees covered under the plan 
reside in Wisconsin.

Ask your insurance company or health 
plan if the mandate applies to you or not 
to be sure.

Does the mandate apply to 
Wisconsin residents only?
If the health insurance policy was issued 
in Wisconsin, then the policy must 
include coverage for autism treatment 
complying with the mandate. The 
mandate applies to a policy bought in 
Wisconsin even if the insured moves out 
of Wisconsin. 

How do I get services 
covered?
To qualify, your child 
•	 Needs a primary diagnosis of an 

autism spectrum disorder,
•	 Must be between the ages of 2 and 9 

years old for intensive-level services, 
and

•	 Must have a prescription from a 
physician to receive treatment.

Treatments must be provided by 
a qualified provider. Contact your 
insurance company for listings of 
qualified providers.

What services are covered?
Intensive-Level Services

Intensive-level services must be 
evidence-based, behavioral therapies 
provided by a qualified health 
care provider. Evidence on autism 
treatments is frequently updated, so 
check with your insurer to find out 
which services are covered. 

Nonintensive-Level Services
Nonintensive-level services must also 
be evidence-based therapies. Similar  
 

to intensive-level services, check with 
your insurer about which services are 
covered. 

A person with an autism spectrum 
disorder is NOT required to receive 
intensive-level services in order to 
qualify for nonintensive-level services. 
There is no age limit for receipt of 
services either. 

Is there an age requirement?
Intensive-level services are covered 
starting on a child’s 2nd birthday until his 
9th birthday. 
There are no age requirements for 
nonintensive-level services. The table 
below summarizes the differences 
between intensive- and nonintensive-
level services.

Is behavioral therapy 
covered?
Yes. Wisconsin’s autism mandate 
requires health insurers to cover 
behavioral analyst services and 
behavioral therapy. This treatment refers 
to interactive approaches aimed at 
building skills that help the child reduce 
problem behaviors. It is also used to 
improve communication, social, self-
care, and learning skills. 

Are any of my child’s other 
health care services covered 
by the mandate?
No. This mandate only applies to servic-
es relating to autism spectrum disorder. 
The services must also meet the defini-
tion of either “intensive-level services” or 
“nonintensive-level services.”

When does insurance 
coverage for intensive-level 
treatment end?
Coverage ends when:
•	 The child has received a cumulative 

four years of intensive-level services.

Frequently Asked Questions 
AUTISM MANDATE 

	 Intensive-Level Services	 Nonintensive-Level Services

Annual Benefit*	 At least $50,000 for services provided	 At least $25,000 for services provided

Age Requirement	 Must begin after 2 years old	 None
	 Must begin before 9 years old

Time Limit	 Up to 4 years of cumulative years	 No limit

Minimum Treatment Hours	 On average, 20 hours per week	 None

*Annually adjusted by CPI and posted to the OCI website.



•	 The child receives services, on 
average, less than 20 hours a week. 
The average is calculated over a six-
month period.

•	 The supervising professional consults 
with a physician and determines less 
treatment is medically appropriate.

How do I transition between 
intensive- and nonintensive-
level services?
Your insurer will notify you your cover-
age has changed once the intensive-
level phase has ended. The notification 
must state the reason for the change. 
Once your child begins nonintensive-
level services, he or she cannot resume 
intensive-level services later.

Can an adult with autism be 
covered on their parent’s 
insurance?
If a child is diagnosed with an autism 
spectrum disorder before turning 18 
years old and the condition qualifies 
as a handicap, the child may remain 
on the parent’s insurance. If the parent 
changes employers and the child is 
older than 18 but younger than 26, the 
child should be eligible for coverage 
under their parents' insurance until his 
or her 26th birthday.

I've already paid for some 
intensive-level treatment for 
my child. How much more is 
she eligible for?
Coverage for intensive-level services 
may last up to four years total. This 
includes treatment time paid for by 
the family, other states, or covered by 
previous insurers. If a child previously 
received on average more than 20 hours 
of treatment per week, the time counts 
against the four years of intensive-level 
services mandated by the statute. 

If my child has to stop 
intensive treatment 
temporarily, can he restart?
Intensive-level treatments may be delayed 
if the child has a significant medical 
condition or surgery. Treatment may 
also be delayed if there is a catastrophic 
event preventing treatment. Notify your 
insurer when these situations happen.

What if I disagree with my 
insurance company about 
the medical necessity 
of treatment under the 
mandate?
An insurance company cannot deny 
a claim under the mandate due to 
medical necessity. The insurer can 
deny a claim if it believes the treatment 

is not supported by evidence. If you 
receive a denial for this reason, you can 
dispute the denial through the insurer’s 
grievance process and an independent 
review process.

Is the diagnosis of autism 
covered under the mandate?
Health insurance covers the cost of 
autism testing, though copayments and 
deductibles may apply. These costs 
do not  come out of the funds required 
under the mandate for that year.  

Do I have to use providers in 
my health insurance plan?
Yes, if your plan requires you to use 
in-network plan providers for coverage. 
If your plan permits you to see out-of-
network providers for other conditions, 
they must also accept claims from 
out-of-network providers for autism 
treatments. Remember, your plan 
may have different copayments or 
deductibles for out-of-network providers, 
so it may be more affordable to find an 
in-network provider.

Does the mandate require 
coverage if I choose an out-
of-network provider?
No. You may be able to obtain out-of-
network care through a referral from 
an in-network physician subject to 
approval by the insurer, but you may be 
responsible for higher deductibles and 
copayments for non-network providers. 
Check with your insurer. 

Do I have to get prior 
authorization from my health 
insurer for autism services?
Generally, no, but it may be beneficial 
so your insurer can determine the most 
affordable way to provide services.  
If your plan requires prior authorization 
for similar outpatient services, then 
you may be required to have autism 
services prior authorized, too. Health 
maintenance organizations (HMOs) 
require prior authorization to receive 
services from out-of-network providers. 

Are there deductibles or any 
other fees for my child to 
receive treatment?
The mandate requires certain insurance 
companies reimburse at least $64,897 
for intensive-level services and $32,448 
for nonintensive-level services. 
Reimbursement means the insurance 
company is responsible for paying the 
provider of the services. Payment will be 
made after services are performed and 
a claim is submitted to the insurer. The 
insurer is not required to pay more than 

the amount mandated by the statute 
although the policy may provide more 
coverage.
An insurance company may apply 
deductibles, coinsurance, or copays 
that generally apply to other conditions 
covered under the policy or plan. These 
amounts are considered part of the 
coverage you receive. The insurer 
cannot limit the number of treatment 
visits for therapies.

If a family faces a large 
financial burden because of 
high deductibles, copays, or 
coinsurance, can a provider 
reduce or waive the fees?
The mandate does not require a 
provider waive fees. Generally, 
providers are prohibited from reducing 
fees unless the total fee would impose 
an undue financial hardship on the 
individual insured.

Is the amount my family 
spends on out-of-network 
providers counted toward 
meeting our deductible for 
other services?
Consult your insurer to find out how  
they allocate out-of-pocket costs 
between different types of services  
in your health plan.

PI-234 (R 02/2020)

The purpose of this publication is to 
summarize the statute and rule requiring 
health insurers to provide coverage for 
treatment of autism spectrum disorders.
Statute: 
www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/ 
Stat0632.pdf
Rule: 
oci.wi.gov/Documents/
Regulation/0336fn10.pdf

Contact your health insurance plan 
administrator to find out if your group 
coverage is fully insured or self-funded. 
Contact your insurer to resolve 
questions regarding your coverage. To 
address a dispute, follow your insurer’s 
grievance process. If the conflict is not 
resolved to your satisfaction, you can file 
a complaint with OCI. Visit ociaccess.
oci.wi.gov/complaints/public/ or call 
(800) 263-8517.

This publication is intended only as a guide. It 
is a summary and is not intended as an OCI 
directive nor to interpret or address technical 
legal questions. Although efforts have been 
made to ensure this publication is current and 
accurate, information is subject to change on 
a regular basis without prior notice.
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