
Consumer's Guide to

Auto

Insurance

State of Wisconsin
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance

P.O. Box 7873
Madison, WI 53707-7873

OCI's World Wide Web Home Page:
oci.wi.gov

Bodily Injury Liability
Property Damage Liability

	 Uninsured Motorist	 Collision
	 Underinsured Motorist	 Comprehensive

Medical Expense

PI-057 (R 04/2015)

http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm


State of Wisconsin, Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
Consumer's Guide to Auto Insurance

2

The mission of the Office of

the Commissioner of Insurance . . .

Leading the way in informing and protecting

the public and responding to their insurance needs.

If you have a specific complaint about your insurance, refer it first to the insurance company or agent involved. If you 
do not receive satisfactory answers, contact the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI).

To file a complaint online or to print a complaint form:
OCI’s Web Site

oci.wi.gov

Phone
(608) 266-0103 (In Madison)

or
1-800-236-8517 (Statewide)

Mailing Address
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance

P.O. Box 7873
Madison, WI 53707-7873

Electronic Mail
ocicomplaints@wisconsin.gov

Please indicate your name, phone number, and e-mail address.

Deaf, hearing, or speech impaired callers may
reach OCI through WI TRS

This guide is not a legal analysis of your rights under any insurance policy or government program. Your insurance 
policy, program rules, Wisconsin law, federal law, and court decisions establish your rights. You may want to consult 
an attorney for legal guidance about your specific rights.

The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance does not represent that the information in this publication is complete, 
accurate or timely in all instances. All information is subject to change on a regular basis, without notice.

Publications are updated annually unless otherwise stated. Publications are available on OCI’s Web site oci.wi.gov. 
If you need a printed copy of a publication, use the online order form or call 1-800-236-8517.

One copy of this publication is available free of charge to the general public. All materials may be printed or copied 
without permission.

mailto:ocicomplaints@wisconsin.gov
http://oci.wi.gov/oci_home.htm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list.htm
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(DMV), Hill Farms State Office Building, 4802 Sheboygan 
Ave., Madison, WI 53702.

Your policy must provide at least the following mini-
mum liability coverage:

	 •	 $25,000 for injury or death of one person;
	 •	 $50,000 for injury or death of two or more 

people; and
	 •	 $10,000 for property damage.

Uninsured motorist coverage of at least 
$25,000/$50,000 each for bodily injury only is also 
mandatory.

Liability Insurance

When referring to liability limits, the insurance in-
dustry uses an abbreviation. The designation of 
$50,000/$100,000/$15,000 (or 50/100/15) or similar 
designations refer to the maximum amounts that an in-
surer will pay for the three basic liability coverages. The 
first number ($50,000) refers to the limit on bodily injury 
payments coverage per person. The second number 
($100,000) refers to the limit on bodily injury coverage per 
accident where two or more people have been injured. 
The third number ($15,000) refers to the limit on property 
damage coverage per accident.

Bodily Injury Liability Coverage does not protect you or 
your car directly. If you cause an accident injuring other 
people, it protects you against their claims up to the stated 
amounts for medical expenses, lost wages, pain and 
suffering, and other losses. It will also usually pay if the 
accident was caused by a member of your family living 
with you or a person using your auto with your consent.

Property Damage Liability Coverage pays for damage 
you cause to the property of others such as a crushed 
fender, broken glass, or a damaged wall or fence. Your 
insurance will pay for this damage if you were driving 
your auto or if it was being driven by another person 
with your consent. Property damage liability also pays 
if you damage government property like a light pole or 
signpost, up to the limit you choose.

Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM)

Uninsured motorist coverage applies to bodily injury you, 
your family, and other occupants of your vehicle incur 
when hit by an uninsured motorist or hit-and-run driver. It 
also covers you and your family if injured as a pedestrian 
when struck by an uninsured motorist or hit-and-run driver. 
It protects you by making sure that money is available 
to pay for your injuries that were caused by someone 

Why Should You Buy Auto Insurance?

Insurance is based on the theory that it is unlikely most 
drivers will be involved in accidents. The premiums paid 
by all drivers during the year are used to pay for the 
losses of the few drivers who have accidents. When you 
buy insurance, you receive financial protection in case 
you become involved in an accident. You also make sure 
that a person injured through your fault will recover for 
losses you cause.

For example, if you are in an auto accident, you may 
be found responsible for the losses of the other people 
involved. A claim may be made or a lawsuit filed against 
you, and you may have to pay not only for the property 
damage but also for the medical expenses, lost wages, 
and pain and suffering of any injured person. The amount 
of money you may have to pay could be substantial.

If you don’t have insurance, anything of value that you 
own, including your home, savings, future wages, and 
other assets, may be taken to pay for those losses. Auto 
liability insurance can help protect you so that this doesn’t 
happen. Liability insurance also pays for an attorney to 
defend you against any claim or lawsuit that may be 
payable under the policy.

You can also buy insurance to cover damages to your 
auto. This optional coverage will help pay for your losses 
whether or not you were at fault.

Components of Auto Insurance

There are many components of auto insurance including 
mandatory and optional coverage. Your policy must 
contain three major parts—liability insurance for bodily 
injury, liability insurance for property damage and 
uninsured motorist coverage. Optional coverage includes 
underinsured motorist, medical expense coverage, 
collision and comprehensive coverage

Mandatory Auto Insurance Requirements

While many components of auto insurance have changed 
over the years the requirement that all drivers have mo-
tor vehicle liability insurance remains mandatory. This 
requirement falls under the purview of the Department of 
Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). They 
can be reached at (414) 266-1000 or (608) 261-2583,

Wisconsin drivers are required to have an automobile 
insurance policy in force or, in limited situations, other 
security which could be a surety bond, personal funds, or 
certificate of self-insurance. Details are available at the 
Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles 
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that you purchase physical damage coverage to protect 
both of your interests in the car.

“Collision” and “Comprehensive” coverages, which are 
also known as physical damage coverages, pay for 
repair or the actual cash value of your auto regardless 
of who is at fault.

Comprehensive and collision premiums are based on the 
make and model year of your car. You should evaluate the 
current market value of your car and your ability to afford 
a similar car should it be destroyed before you purchase 
this coverage. You may not need this coverage if your car 
has decreased in value or if you can afford to replace it.

Collision coverage pays if your auto collides with an 
object, including another car or hit-and-run car, or if it 
overturns. Your own insurer will pay for such damage 
even if the collision is your fault.

Comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your auto 
from almost all other causes such as fire, vandalism, 
water, hail, glass breakage, wind, falling objects, civic 
commotion, or hitting an animal. Damage from striking 
a deer is a relatively frequent accident in Wisconsin. It 
is important to know that most policies cover hitting an 
animal under comprehensive, not collision, insurance.

Comprehensive coverage also pays if your auto or parts 
of it, such as a battery or tires, are stolen. Flood damage 
to your car is also covered if your auto insurance policy 
includes comprehensive coverage. If you carry collision 
without comprehensive coverage, you are not covered 
for flood damage.

Underwriting and Rating

Comparison shopping for car insurance is  often beneficial. 
Premiums are based on a number of factors and may 
vary a great deal from one insurer to another for the 
same policy. The most important items in establishing 
your rate are:

	 Your age, sex, and marital status. For example, 
young, single male drivers generally pay more 
than any other group.

	 Where you live. Most insurance companies 
divide the state into territories for rating purposes. 
Generally, people in metropolitan areas pay more 
than those in less congested places.

	 Your car. The year, make, and model of your 
car influence your premium. The less it costs to 
repair or replace your vehicle, the lower the cost 
of your premium. Sports cars and cars with high 

else. The minimum amount of coverage required by 
law is $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury only. But these 
coverages are the minimum required by law, you may want 
to purchase more than the minimum coverage required 
by law if you feel the need for more protection. Uninsured 
motorist coverage does not cover your property damage 
and does not protect the other driver. Your insurer may 
sue the other driver for any money your insurer pays you 
because of the other driver’s negligence.

Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UIM)

Underinsured motorists (UIM) coverage increases the 
bodily injury protection to you and the people in your 
car up to the amount of coverage you purchase if the 
at-fault party’s bodily injury liability insurance limits are 
lower than your UIM coverage limits.

Underinsured motorist coverage is not mandatory. The 
company must notify you with the delivery of your policy 
that UIM coverage is available. You may reject buying 
UIM coverage. However, if purchased, coverage limits of 
at least $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident 
are required.

You should carefully review your policy to determine 
exactly what coverage is provided by UIM.

Medical Payments Coverage

This coverage pays medical or funeral expenses for you 
or others injured or killed in an accident while riding or 
driving in your auto. This includes all reasonable hospital, 
surgical, chiropractic, x-ray, dental, professional nursing, 
prosthetic, and rehabilitation expenses up to the limits 
of the coverage.

Medical payments coverage usually covers only those 
expenses not covered by health insurance, such as copay-
ments, deductibles, etc. It will also cover you or members 
of your family if you are struck by an auto while walking 
or while riding in another auto. This coverage will pay for 
your medical and funeral expenses even if you cause 
the accident. Usually, only expenses incurred within one 
year after the accident are included. As an example, this 
coverage will provide benefits for a friend, or a neighbor’s 
child injured in your car. Medical expense coverage is an 
optional coverage. Note: Companies must offer this 
coverage to you, but you do not have to buy it. The 
minimum limit that can be purchased is $1,000.

Physical Damage Coverage

If you borrow money from a bank or some other financial 
institution to buy your car, the lender will probably require 
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powered engines cost more to insure than cars 
with smaller engines.

	 How you use your car. Generally the more you 
drive, the more you pay.

	 Prior insurance coverage. Insurers may ask you 
if you had insurance coverage previously. If you 
have previously been canceled for nonpayment 
of premiums, insurers may want to know. If you 
have had insurance, the prior company can tell 
the new insurer a little about your claims history.

When an insurance company considers your application 
for auto coverage, it will take into account a number of 
different factors about you and your driving record. Just 
because you apply with a certain company does not 
mean you will be provided coverage by that company.

After completing the underwriting, the insurance company 
will place you in one of the three basic categories of 
drivers listed below. Each company adopts its own rating 
system for deciding whether to insure a person. Those 
with the lowest risk factors (least likely to have a claim) 
will receive the lowest rates.

	 Preferred. This category is intended for drivers 
that companies consider to be the best risks, 
which usually means the safest drivers. These 
insureds are usually ones with clean driving 
records over the past three to five years. These 
are given the lowest rates.

	 Standard. This category is intended for moderate 
risk drivers. The rates are higher than the 
preferred rates. These drivers are usually driving 
family-type cars and have a reasonably clean 
driving record.

	 Nonstandard. This category is intended for 
drivers that companies consider to be high risk. 
Usually drivers in this category have the highest 
rates. These drivers may include drivers under 
age 25 with less driving experience, drivers with 
tickets or accidents, drivers with a poor premium 
payment history, and drivers with a reckless or 
drunk-driving history.

Your agent should be able to tell what classification you fit 
into. The dividing lines are not always consistent across 
insurers, but in general an applicant with chargeable 
accidents will be denied coverage by the lowest cost 
insurers in the above examples. These insurers are 
relatively low cost because their customers are better 
than average drivers. Since you generally cannot tell 

from the name or promotional ads of an insurer what 
its underwriting criteria are, seek the help of a qualified 
agent to find which insurer might insure you.

Credit Information

Consumer credit information may be requested by 
an insurer when writing new or renewal policies for 
both commercial and personal risks. Some insurance 
companies believe that certain credit information may be 
an indicator of the frequency and severity of future claims.

Companies must use credit information in a way that is not 
unfairly discriminatory. If an insurer rejects your insurance 
application based on information contained in your credit 
report, you have the right to review the report information 
for accuracy, at no charge. You must request a copy of 
the report directly from the credit agency. Your insurance 
company will provide you with the credit agency’s name, 
address and telephone number.

Insurers may use credit information as one of the criteria 
they consider when underwriting personal lines insurance. 
However, it is the position of OCI that insurers should not 
use credit information, whether they use credit reports or 
credit scoring mechanisms, as the sole reason to refuse 
an application, cancel a new insurance policy in its first 
60 days of coverage, or nonrenew an existing policy.

For more information on the Fair Credit Reporting Act 
(www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fcrajump.shtm) contact the 
Federal Trade Commission at:

Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
CRC-240

Washington, DC 20580
1-877-FTC-HELP (382-4357)

www.ftc.gov

OCI publishes a fact sheet that answers questions about 
how insurance companies use credit history in their 
underwriting process. More information is also available on 
OCI’s Web site at oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-204.htm including 
Understanding How Insurance Companies Use Credit 
Information. To receive a copy, download it at oci.wi.gov/
pub_list/pi-204.htm or call 1-800-236-8517.

Ways to Lower Your Premium

There are many actions you can take to lower the cost 
of your automobile insurance.

http://www.ftc.gov
http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fcrajump.shtm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-204.htm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-204.htm
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•	 Accident/claim free—insurers commonly reduce 
premiums for each year you have been continuously 
insured by them without being involved in an accident 
or filing a claim.

•	 Pay in full—some companies offer a discount for paying 
your premium in one lump sum or by automatic elec-
tronic payments. You can also save service charges 
by paying your premiums in a lump sum rather than 
in installments.

•	 Pay bills on time—you may avoid late fees for paying 
your bill on time. Also, many companies use consumer 
credit information as a rating factor. Maintaining a good 
credit history may lower your rate.

A good agent will be sure to inquire about your particular 
circumstances to acquaint you with all applicable discount 
packages offered by the insurer he or she represents.

Increase Deductibles

Many of the factors that go into determining your auto 
premium are relatively fixed by your household make-up 
and lifestyle. One thing you can easily change, however, 
is the amount of your deductible (usually only applies to 
comprehensive or collision coverage).

A deductible is the dollar amount you must pay out-
of-pocket for each covered claim. Deductibles on 
collision coverage can range from $100 to $1,000. On 
comprehensive they can range from $100 to $500 or 
higher.

Before deciding the level of deductible you must consider 
your ability to absorb unexpected financial demands. 
For example, if a loss of $500 occurs and you have a 
deductible of $250, you pay $250 (your deductible) and 
you collect $250 from your insurer. If a loss of less than 
$250 occurs, you pay for all of it yourself.

If you increase your deductible and pay for small losses 
yourself, your insurer can charge you less. This way 
you can cut your insurance premium costs and still be 
protected against large losses.

Youthful Drivers

The cost of automobile insurance varies from one group 
(classification) of drivers to another. The reason for this 
is that, on the average, some groups have worse driving 
records, higher accident rates, and more costly accidents 
than others. Usually, the highest premiums are paid by 

Safe Driving

Your driving record is very important in determining 
your premiums. Most insurers charge more—often 
substantially more—for people who have a recent history 
of accidents and/or moving violations than for people 
with relatively clean records. Therefore, it is important 
that you ask your agent to go over all facts concerning 
your driving record and check all other information for 
accuracy on your application for a policy. A mistake on 
your application could cost you money or result in the 
cancellation of your insurance policy.

NOTE. Wisconsin law allows insurers to rate based 
on all the members in a household including husband, 
wife, children, or nonrelative, but the law does not allow 
insurers to exclude drivers by endorsement.

Your present insurer may charge a higher rate, a sur-
charge, if you are involved in a chargeable accident or 
were ticketed for a serious traffic violation. Surcharges 
must be applied in a uniform manner and are required 
to be filed with OCI. The insurer may also elect to non-
renew your policy as it expires if your accident record 
or moving violations exceed the insurer’s standards.

Take Advantage of Discounts

Every auto insurer has its own package of “special” 
discounts to attract particular types of customers. Below 
is a sample of discounts to ask your agent about.

•	 Package discount—up to 15% is offered to customers 
who insure both their home and automobile with the 
same insurer;

•	 Multiple automobile discounts—insuring more than 
one automobile almost always qualifies an insured 
for a discount;

•	 Good student discount—typically a 10 to 20% discount 
is offered if a youthful driver maintains a “B” or better 
grade average in high school or college;

•	 Nonsmokers discount—a few insurers offer discounts 
of 5 to 10% for insureds who do not smoke;

•	 Passive restraints—several companies offer discounts 
of up to 40% on medical payments coverage for driver 
and/or passenger air bags, automatic seat belts, or 
anti-lock brakes;
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the male driver under age 25, with his rate depending 
on his marital status and whether he owns, or is the 
principal driver, of the car being insured. Under the most 
widely used rating system, the cost of auto insurance for 
youthful drivers is scaled downward periodically. Rates 
for unmarried males who are the owners of their cars are 
reduced periodically from age 17-29.

In most states, rates for unmarried males who are not the 
owners of their cars, for married males, and for females 
are reduced each year from age 17-21. For these groups, 
the “young driver” surcharges are eliminated at age 25.

Underage Drinking and Driving

Auto insurance premiums may be tripled or nonrenewed 
for parents whose underage children receive operating 
while intoxicated (OWI) citations. OCI surveyed the twenty 
top writers of auto insurance in the state.

Six of the nineteen companies surveyed said that parents’ 
insurance rates would be affected if a minor received a 
citation for underage drinking when the minor has NOT 
been driving. The policy could be nonrenewed, canceled, 
be renewed with nonstandard rates, or be surcharged. 
The rate increases range from 90% to 260%.

Nineteen companies reported a rate increase or 
cancellation of the policy if a minor receives a citation 
for OWI. The rate increases range from 47% to 300%.

If your child is cited for underage drinking where the 
violation involved the operation or use of a motor vehicle, 
the insurer might nonrenew the parents' insurance policy 
or increase the premium which would remain at the 
higher level for a number of years or until the child leaves 
the household. If a child is cited for underage drinking 
involving a motor vehicle, the parents' insurance rate 
may be affected for a minimum of three years, or until 
the minor is no longer a member of the household, or 
no longer on the policy. OCI recommends that, before 
using an underage drinking violation to underwrite or rate 
a policy, the company investigates whether the violation 
is driving related. (Section Ins 6.54 (3) (a) 1, Wis. Adm. 
Code, prohibits using an insured's or applicant's criminal 
records.)

If a young driver in your household has received citations 
for driving related violations, including an OWI, those 
violations can also affect other policies held by the 
parents. One of the companies reports a possible effect 
for umbrella policies, and for two other companies, a 
citation would affect insurance rates on other nonauto 
motor vehicles, such as boats, or snowmobiles.

The Department of Motor Vehicles will release any 
records related to drinking and driving, even for a minor, 
to insurance companies, when requested. Wisconsin 
driver records that are not confidential can be accessed 
by anyone under the open records law. Records that 
are not confidential include OWI and UAO (Underage 
Alcohol Operation).

Remember. If you add another vehicle to your policy 
or change your insurance coverage, ask your agent 
to issue a binder confirming the coverage. A binder 
is a temporary written agreement, issued in the name 
of the insurance company, that takes the place of the 
policy or endorsement until the policy or endorsement 
is issued. Only a binder is evidence of immediate 
coverage.

What if You Have Trouble Finding Insurance?

If you try several insurers and cannot find coverage, 
you most likely can be insured through the Wisconsin 
Automobile Insurance Plan (WAIP). This is a facility 
created by Wisconsin law to provide automobile insurance 
to those who cannot secure coverage from usual market 
sources.

When you apply, you will be assigned to a licensed insurer 
who will issue you a policy. Since it is a last resort facility, 
the rates charged will usually be somewhat higher than 
rates charged in the voluntary market. While you are in 
the plan, you should continue to shop for less expensive 
coverage. After four years, the company insuring you 
must accept you for regular coverage if you have had a 
clean driving record.

You may apply through any licensed property and casualty 
insurance agent. For general information on the plan, 
you may call or write to:

Wisconsin Auto Insurance Plan (WAIP)
20700 Swenson Drive, Suite 100

Waukesha, WI 53186
(262) 796-4599

https://www.wcrb.org/WAIP/WAIP_home.aspx

Safety Responsibility Law

Wisconsin has a Safety Responsibility Law to protect 
persons who suffer damages in accidents caused by 
uninsured motorists who do not pay for damages or 
injuries they cause.

http://www.waip.org
https://www.wcrb.org/WAIP/WAIP_home.aspx
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The law requires that anytime a person is hurt or killed 
or someone's property is damaged over $1,000, the car 
accident must be reported as soon as possible. You must 
file a Driver's Report of Accident within 10 days with the 
Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If a police agency 
investigates the accident, you do not have to fill out the 
accident report, the police will.

The DMV checks the accident reports for insurance 
coverage. If all motorists are insured, no action is taken. 
If DMV determines that a driver is uninsured and appears 
to be at fault, the law allows DMV to take away the driver 
license and vehicle registration of the uninsured motorist 
if he/she does not pay for the damages or injuries they 
caused.

For more information, contact the Wisconsin Division 
of Motor Vehicles, Traffic Accident Section, Room 804, 
P.O. Box 7919, Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7919, or at 
(608) 266-1249. Information about the Safety Responsibil-
ity Law is also available on the Wisconsin Department of 
Transportation’s Web site at www.dot.state.wi.us/drivers/
drivers/traffic/sr-law.htm.

Comparative Negligence Law

Wisconsin has a comparative negligence law which means 
responsibility is frequently shared. The comparative 
negligence law is based on a percentage of negligence. 
This means you may recover damages from another 
party only if your negligence is not greater than the 
other party. Recovery for your damages will be reduced 
by the percent of negligence attributed to you. You are 
barred from recovery if your negligence is greater than 
another party’s negligence.

If You Are in an Accident

Call the police. A police report can help if you have an 
accident or if your car is stolen or damaged by vandals. 
What looks like a minor dent could be several hundred 
dollars’ worth of damage.

Obtain information. The insurance company will need 
complete information. Exchange insurance information 
with the other driver. Write down the names, addresses, 
telephone numbers, and license number of persons in-
volved and of witnesses. Note the time, date, location, 
road conditions, year and make of vehicles involved, 
apparent damage and injuries, and your version of what 
happened. Make a diagram of the accident. Take pictures 
of the scene and damage with a cell phone or camera. 

Filing an Insurance Claim

Call your agent or insurer. Phone your agent or the 
insurer promptly, even if you are far from home. Ask what 
forms or documents will be needed to support your claim. 
The insurer may require a “proof of loss” form, as well as 
documents relating to your claim, such as medical and 
repair bills and a copy of the police report. If you have 
any questions, your agent should be able to assist you 
in filling out the forms.

Cooperate and answer all questions fully. The insurer 
may call you for more information or ask to examine your 
damaged vehicle. Supply the information the insurer 
needs. In order to determine the extent of damage, they 
must have access to the vehicle. Cooperate with the in-
vestigation and settlement of the claim. Cooperate with 
the defense of any claim and provide your insurer with 
copies of any legal papers you receive in connection with 
your accident. Your insurer will represent you if a claim 
is brought against you and defend you if you are sued 
for a claim covered by the policy.

Keep receipts and records. Keep receipts and records 
of expenses you incur as a result of the accident. Save 
copies of all documents you send or receive. You may 
need them later.

Take notes. Whenever you talk with insurance company 
employees, your agent, lawyers, police, or others, write 
down the date, times, names, and subjects you talked 
about. Include all decisions or promises made.

Report worker’s compensation claim. If you are injured 
in a motor vehicle accident while conducting work-related 
activities for your employer, also file a worker’s compensa-
tion claim with your employer. Your employer’s worker’s 
compensation policy will cover your medical expenses 
and loss of income.

Repairing Your Car

Coverage for your vehicle in a personal auto insurance 
policy is not based on replacement cost. The policy is 
based on actual cash value of the automobile. The “actual 
cash value” (ACV) of the automobile is based on the value 
of the vehicle at the time of loss, taking into account its 
current market value. Therefore, the insurer’s obligation 
is to repair the car based upon its actual cash value not 
its replacement cost.

If your car is damaged in an accident, your insurer will 
request that you submit one or more written estimates for 
the cost of repairs. This permits you and your insurer to 

http://www.dot.state.wi.us/drivers/drivers/traffic/sr-law.htm
http://www.dot.state.wi.us/drivers/drivers/traffic/sr-law.htm
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compare estimates and have your vehicle repaired at the 
lowest possible cost. Competitive body shop estimates 
reduce insurance claim costs which helps in maintaining 
or reducing auto insurance rates.

Your insurer may suggest, but cannot require, you to have 
your car repaired at a specific auto repair shop. If you 
choose to have the repairs done at a facility not approved 
by your insurer, you are responsible for any repair costs 
that exceed the final claim settlement.

Auto repair shops may use aftermarket or used parts when 
repairing or replacing a damaged part (i.e., bumpers, 
bumper covers, and associated bumper parts). After-
market parts are produced by companies other than the 
original equipment manufacturers (known as OEM parts).

Auto insurance contracts do not generally specify what 
parts will be used. You may request that aftermarket parts 
not be used to repair your vehicle, but you are responsible 
for any repair costs that exceed the final claim settlement 
negotiated with the insurer.

If Your Vehicle is Totaled

An insurance company will “total” your car if repairs would 
cost more than it is worth. An insurance company will 
use various sources to value your car, including, but not 
limited to, the National Automobile Dealers Association 
Used Car Guide (“Blue Book”) or the CCC Information 
Services, Inc., guide. The company’s offer, therefore, 
might not recognize your car’s condition, special features 
or value on the local market. Companies must use a fair 
and reasonable method to determine the value of your car. 
You have the right to know how the value was determined 
and you should be sure to give the insurance company 
all the information that may affect the value of your car.

It may come down to negotiations between you and the 
insurance company to reach an agreement on the value 
of your car. A company is more likely to raise its offer if 
you can show that your car would sell for a higher price 
in your area. Get several used car dealers’ written price 
quotes for a similar automobile. Newspaper used-car 
ads also can build your case.

Remember, an insurance company won’t compensate 
you for the sentimental value of your car.

Lender Insurance Requirements

If you finance your car, the lender will require that you 
have car insurance. The terms of your loan will most 
likely require you to provide comprehensive and collision 

insurance. If your insurance policy lapses, the bank will 
force coverage (obtain a policy) and charge you for it. 
Forced coverage provides protection to the bank, not 
you, for their interest in the car and nothing else.

If a bank has forced insurance coverage on your car 
it is in your best interest to obtain regular insurance 
immediately. The forced coverage provides no liability 
insurance. These policies can be three times more 
expensive, compared to a regular policy, and the charges 
for these policies will be added on to your loan amount.

Note. If your car is in an accident, your insurance 
company will pay for repairs or replacement only 
up to the car’s actual cash value—the amount it 
would have sold for before the accident. The actual 
cash value of the car is unrelated to the amount of 
your car loan and may be less than what you owe 
on your loan. Your insurance company is obligated 
to return your vehicle to the condition it was prior to 
the accident and you are responsible for what you 
owe on your car loan.

Vehicles in Storage

If you plan to not use your car for an extended period of 
time and decide to place it in a garage, you may want to 
ask your agent to suspend some of the coverages, so that 
you will not have to pay the premium associated with these 
charges. Your car might still be susceptible to physical 
damage, however, so you might consider maintaining 
comprehensive and possibly collision coverage while 
your vehicle is in storage.

Extended Warranties

Some extended warranty plans (sometimes called 
service contracts) that provide repair and replacement 
services beyond what the product manufacturer offers 
are regulated by OCI. If you want to know if a warranty 
plan is licensed in this state, call (608) 266‑0103 or toll-
free 1‑800‑236-8517.

If you have a problem with a vehicle manufacturer warranty 
plan, contact:

Department of Transportation
Dealer Regulation Unit, Room 806

P.O. Box 7909
Madison, WI 53707-7909

(608) 266-1425
www.dot.state.wi.us

http://www.dot.state.wi.us
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certain that your agent agrees to review your coverage 
from time to time, advises you about other financial 
services, and assists you when problems develop.

Some agents are interested in selling package products 
or services to as many people as possible. While there 
is nothing wrong with low cost, standardized products, 
they should fit your needs. If you are not convinced that 
a particular agent understands your needs and will give 
you the service you want, seek another agent.

Agents and insurers differ. Friends may have some 
recommendations. If not, try the Internet or yellow pages. 
If you travel frequently, you may want to check with your 
insurer or agent to find out how to file a claim when you 
are out of the area.

All companies and agents doing business in Wisconsin 
are licensed by OCI. Licensing information about agents 
and companies can be found on OCI’s Web site at https://
ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci (agent/
agency) and https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/
CmpInfo.oci (company) or call 1-800-236-8517.

For Your Protection

Information is available to consumers from a number 
of sources. These sources include the Internet, public 
libraries, state insurance departments, consumer groups, 
and consumer publications. Financial strength and being 
able to meet financial obligations to policyholders is very 
important.

Independent organizations such as A.M. Best, Standard 
& Poor’s, Moody’s Investors Service, and others publish 
financial ratings. These rating organizations do not rate 
the quality of the company’s policies, practices, agents, 
or service. You should consider checking with at least 
two organizations to evaluate a company’s strength. If 
you want to check on an insurance company’s financial 
stability, you can check the reference section of your 
public library for published ratings, call OCI, or check 
with your insurance agent.

Every state has a safety net to protect insurance 
consumers from financial loss in the rare instance that 
a company becomes insolvent. This safety net is called 
a “guaranty fund.” The guaranty funds are established 
by state law and are composed of licensed companies 
in the state. They pay the claims of policyholders and 
other claimants of an insolvent company. The money to 
pay the claims against the insurance company comes 
from assessments made against all of the insurance 
companies that are members of the guaranty fund.

Collision Damage Waiver Coverage

Rental car companies often sell collision damage waiver 
(CDW) coverage. A CDW is a contract offered by rental 
car companies. The contract shifts liability for collision 
damage from the person renting the car to the car 
rental company. Collision damage to the rental car is 
any damage resulting from an accident. Most personal 
auto policies include coverage for damage to a rental 
car. Before renting a car, check with your agent to see 
if you have coverage under your personal auto policy. It 
is also important to note if there is a difference in value 
between your car and the rental car.

NOTE. If you rent a car in an area where your regular 
insurance does not provide coverage (i.e., anywhere 
outside the United States and Canada), purchasing 
a CDW is probably worthwhile.

If you are having problems with a car rental company, 
you should contact the Consumer Protection Unit of 
the Attorney General’s Office in the state in which you 
rented the car.

In Wisconsin, contact:

Department of Agriculture, Trade
& Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive

Madison, WI 53702-0001
800-422-7128
datcp.wi.gov

Insurance Marketing

When you begin to contact insurers, there a few things 
you should know about how insurance companies work.

For the most part insurance is sold directly through an 
insurance company or indirectly through an agent or 
broker. An independent agent may represent more than 
one, and sometimes several insurance companies. An 
exclusive agent sells solely for one insurance company or 
group of related companies if the insurance company or 
group writes that type of insurance. Independent agents, 
as well as exclusive agents, may place business with 
another company if the company(s) he or she represents 
does not write the type of insurance needed. A broker 
represents you in dealings with an insurance company.

When you first talk to an agent, be sure that he or she 
is willing and able to explain various policies and other 
insurance-related matters. An agent should look for ways 
to get you the most protection at an affordable cost. Make 

http://datcp.wi.gov
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/CmpInfo.oci
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/CmpInfo.oci
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci
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In Wisconsin, this fund is called the Insurance Security 
Fund (Fund). The Fund is created by state law and is 
funded by assessments of insurers licensed to do business 
in Wisconsin. In general, the Fund protects residents for 
most claims of licensed insurers in liquidation. The Fund 
should not be relied upon to eliminate all risks of loss 
to insureds due to insurer insolvency. Some types of 
policies may not be fully covered and significant delays 
could occur in settling obligations in cases of liquidation.

Questions about the coverage and limitations of the 
Insurance Security Fund can be addressed to:

Wisconsin Insurance Security Fund
2820 Walton Commons West, Suite 135

Madison, WI 53718-6797
(608) 242-9473

www.wilifega.org/

Tips for a Wise Consumer

•	 Read your policy. An auto insurance policy is a 
legal contract. It is written so that your rights and 
responsibilities, as well as those of the insurer, are 
clearly stated.

•	 Know what your needs are and find an insurer that 
meets your needs. Some insurers insure not only your 
car, but your home, life and health. Buy adequate 
coverage, but don’t buy more than you need.

•	 Comparison shop. It pays to shop around. Prices for 
the same coverage can vary greatly. A couple of hours 
of research can save you hundreds of dollars a year.

•	 Choose an insurer that has a good claims record. 
If in doubt, contact OCI and ask about the insurer’s 
complaint ratio.

•	 Check insurance costs before you buy a new or used 
car. Insurance costs are higher for makes and models 
that are expensive to repair or that are frequently 
stolen. Your agent can assist you in getting the best 
value for your insurance dollar.

•	 Take advantage of low mileage discounts. Some 
companies offer significant discounts to drivers who 
keep their annual mileage at or below certain levels. 
In general, the less you drive, the more you can save.

•	 Don’t pay cash. Always give an agent or insurer 
a check or money order. This will be proof of your 
payment.

•	 Some insurers will allow for electronic funds transfer 
arrangements (EFT). EFTs allow your insurer to 
automatically deduct your premiums from your 
checking account during certain time periods; be 
aware of your scheduled withdrawals if you choose 
to take advantage of this option.

•	 In the long run, being a safe driver is the best advice 
on how to keep your premiums low. Lower rates are 
generally paid by those who maintain a good driving 
record.

•	 While the price you pay is important, buying the least 
expensive policy may not necessarily be a good 
idea. Insurance that sounds too good to be true 
probably is too good to be true. However, looking 
only at benefits could result in paying a higher than 
necessary premium. You should consider all of the 
following when choosing a company and a policy:

♦	 Premium
♦	 Benefits, including any coverage exclusions or 

limits
♦	 Service (what’s involved in making a claim?)
♦	 Renewability (how easily can you be canceled?)
♦	 Financial strength and reliability of the company
♦	 Company management philosophy

Termination, Denials, and Cancellations

New Policies

When a policy first becomes effective, the insurer may 
cancel the policy any time within the first 59 days. The 
cancellation is not effective until at least 10 days after 
the insurance company mails or delivers to you a written 
notice of cancellation.

Renewal on Altered Terms

Sometimes an insurer will renew a policy but will raise the 
rates or make the terms less favorable to the insured. An 
insurer may not alter the terms of coverage until 60 days 
after a notice is mailed to you. To be effective, the notice 
must be mailed or delivered prior to the renewal date. If 
the notice is given less than 60 days before the renewal 
date, the new terms or premium increase will not become 
effective until 60 days have elapsed from the date the 
notice is given. These conditions do not apply if the only 
change is a rate increase of less than 25%. If the insurer 
fails to notify you of the new premiums or terms prior to 
your renewal date, the insurance company must continue 
your policy for an additional period of time equivalent to 
your expiring term and at the same premiums and terms 
of your expiring policy. [s. 631.36 (5), Wis. Stat.]

http://www.wilifega.org/
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/CmpInfo.oci
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Midterm Cancellation

A midterm cancellation is a cancellation that occurs 
during the policy term and prior to the policy’s expiration 
or renewal date. An insurance company can only cancel 
coverage during this period if the premium is not paid or if 
there is a substantial change in the risk assumed by the 
insurance company. The insurer must either mail or deliver 
to you a written cancellation notice. No cancellation is 
effective until at least 10 days after the mailing or delivery 
of the notice, and it must state with reasonable precision 
the facts on which the insurer’s cancellation decision is 
based. [s. 631.36 (2) (b) and (6), Wis. Stat.]

Nonrenewals

Nonrenewal of a policy refers to the termination of a policy 
at the expiration date. If an insurer decides it does not 
want to renew your policy, it must mail or deliver to you 
a nonrenewal notice at least 60 days before the policy’s 
expiration date. The nonrenewal notice must provide 
the reason for the nonrenewal. The insurer must also 
provide information in the notice on how to apply to the 
Wisconsin Auto Insurance Plan for coverage. Under 
certain conditions, these plans offer auto insurance to 
people who are unable to obtain it in the voluntary market. 
[s. 631.36 (4), (6), (7), Wis. Stat.]

If an insurer fails to provide notice prior to the expiration 
date, it must continue your coverage under the terms and 
premium of your prior policy for the term of the policy or 
one year, whichever is less. [s. 631.36 (4) (a), Wis. Stat.]

Anniversary Cancellations

This refers to a policy written for an indefinite term or for 
more than one year. These policies may be canceled on 
any anniversary date if the policies contain cancellation 
provisions. If your insurer decides to cancel your policy 
on an anniversary date, it must mail or deliver to you a 
written notice at least 60 days prior to the anniversary 
date; this notice must state with reasonable precision 
the facts on which the insurer’s cancellation decision is 
based. [s. 631.36 (3) and (6), Wis. Stat.]

General Anti-Discrimination Laws

There are statutes and rules that protect consumers from 
unfair discrimination in insurance policies.

•	 Insurers may not refuse to insure you or refuse to 
renew your policy on the basis of sex. [s. Ins 6.55, 
Wis. Adm. Code]

•	 Insurers may not refuse coverage to a class of risks 
solely on the basis of past criminal record, physical 
disability, past mental disability, age, marital status, 
sexual preference, “moral” character, or the location 
of the risk. Insurers may not use these classifications 
to charge different rates without credible supporting 
information that must be filed with the Office of the 
Commissioner of Insurance.

	 No insurer may cancel or refuse to issue or renew 
an automobile insurance policy wholly or partially 
because of one or more of the following characteristics 
of any person: age, sex, residence, race, color, creed, 
religion, national origin, ancestry, marital status, or 
occupation.

Some of these classifications may be used by an insurance 
company if its experience supports differences in losses 
from these classifications. [s. 632.35, Wis. Stat., and 
s. Ins 6.54, Wis. Adm. Code]

An insurer may not refuse, cancel, or deny coverage 
solely because of a past criminal record, physical or 
developmental disability, past mental disability, age, 
marital status, sexual preference, or “moral” character.

Problems With Your Insurance Company

If you are having a problem with your insurance, you 
should first check with your agent or with the company 
that sold you the policy. If you do not get satisfactory 
answers from the agent or company, contact OCI. An 
online complaint form is available at:

oci.wi.gov/com_form.htm

The more complete and accurate this information is, 
the more likely it is that your problem can be resolved. 
Be sure that you have included the correct name of the 
insurance company from which you bought the policy. 
Many companies have very similar names. Listing the 
wrong name may delay the investigation of your complaint.

Before signing an application for any insurance coverage, 
verify that the company and the agent you are dealing 
with are licensed in our state. Licensing information about 
agents and companies can be found on OCI’s Web site 
at https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci 
(agent/agency) and https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/
CmpInfo.oci (company) or call 1-800-236-8517.

It is illegal for unlicensed insurers to sell insurance. 
Business cards are not proof of a licensed insurance agent 

http://oci.wi.gov/com_form.htm
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/CmpInfo.oci
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/CmpInfo.oci


State of Wisconsin, Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
Consumer's Guide to Auto Insurance

14

or company. If you do business with an unlicensed agent 
or company, you have no guarantee that the coverage you 
pay for will ever be honored. If you purchase insurance 
from companies not legally doing business in the state, 
you will not be protected by the Wisconsin Insurance 
Security Fund should the company fail.

If an unlicensed agent or company contacts you, call OCI 
immediately so that regulatory action can be taken. By 
doing so, you may protect someone less knowledgeable 
than you from being victimized.

OCI investigates complaints to determine if any insurance 
laws or rules have been violated. If any laws or rules have 
been violated, the office will proceed with disciplinary 
action. Penalties include suspension or revocation of 
licenses or fines. This office usually cannot settle a factual 
dispute; disputes based on a question of fact may have to 
be pursued through small claims court or with an attorney.

If you are not satisfied with the service you receive, 
contact your insurer or agent. The following industry 
associations also may help:

Independent Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
725 John Nolen Drive
Madison, WI 53713

(608) 256-4429
www.iiaw.com/

Professional Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
6401 Odana Road
Madison, WI 53719

(608) 274-8188
www.piaw.org/

Community Insurance Information Center
700 West Michigan Street, Suite 360

Milwaukee, WI 53233
(414) 291-5360

insuranceinfo-ciic.org/

http://www.iiaw.com/
http://www.piaw.org/
http://www.piaw.org/
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Automobile Insurance
Quotation Worksheet

Rating Information

			   Marital	 % Use	 Annual Mileage:
	 Age	 Sex	 Status	 of Car
					     Number of Miles One Way if Driving to and
Principal Operator				            %	 from Work Every Day:
					   
Other Driver(s)				            %
					   

Number of Accidents or Moving Violations in the Last 3 Years:
List on separate sheet. Use date of conviction for violations.

Type of Auto(s)	         Make		  Model & Year

Auto 1
Auto 2

Insurance Quotes - Semiannual Premiums

Liability Limits:	 Company	 Company	 Company
		  1	 2	 3

	 Bodily Injury:	 per person
	 Bodily Injury:	 per accident
	 Property Damage:	 per accident

Uninsured Motorist

	 Bodily Injury:	 per person
	 Bodily Injury:	 per accident

Underinsured Motorist

	 Bodily Injury:	 per person
	 Bodily Injury:	 per accident

Physical Damage to Insured Vehicle

	 Comprehensive:	 deductible
	 Collision:	 deductible

Other Coverages:

TOTAL SEMIANNUAL PREMIUM:
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