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Insurance Basics for College Students 
 

Okay, you have notebooks and a laptop for your power lectures, a futon for the dorm room, and snacks (nutritious, of course) for 
late-night studying. Everything is set as you embark on your college journey. But hold on - you might be forgetting something. 
Although it may not seem like a top priority right now, insurance is a concern all college students need to think about. Having 
the right type of automobile, renter’s, and health insurance can provide vital protection during years when most people can ill-
afford any major financial setbacks.  

 
So You Want to Take Your Car to School 

 

Driving is nothing new to you as you go away to college, but how you pay for automobile insurance may be. In high school, 
chances are you were covered under your parents’ automobile insurance policy, and if you drive a car owned by them at college, 
you likely will still be covered under their policy. But if you own your own vehicle, you will need an individual automobile 
insurance policy. 

In Wisconsin, automobile insurance is mandatory. Also, Wisconsin has a financial responsibility law requiring all licensed 
motorists be able to pay for damages to others caused in an accident. This can be met through insurance, a surety bond, or self-
insurance. 

If you decide to meet the financial responsibility requirements through automobile insurance, it can cover these areas:  
 
Liability 

For injuries you cause to other drivers and damage you cause to their property when you hit them. 

Uninsured Motorists (UM) 

For treatment of your injuries from being hit by an uninsured motorist or in a hit-and-run accident. UM coverage has 
nothing to do with property damage; it only involves bodily injury. 

Underinsured Motorists (UIM) 

For treatment of your injuries when a driver causing an accident has lower bodily injury liability limits than your UIM 
limits. Insurers are required to notify you of the availability of this coverage, although buying it is optional. UIM 
coverage has nothing to do with property damage; it only involves bodily injury. 

Medical Payments 

For treatment of bodily injury you or your passengers suffer in an accident. It usually covers only medical expenses 
not covered by health insurance, such as copayments and deductibles. Companies must offer you this coverage 
with a limit of at least $1,000 per person but you do not have to buy it. 

Wisconsin law requires you to carry liability coverage limits of at least $25,000 for the injury or death of one person, $50,000 for the 
injury or death of two or more people and $10,000 for property damage. The law also requires uninsured motorist coverage limits of 
at least $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury only. 
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Drivers make choices about what types of coverage they will purchase. Liability claims can easily exceed the minimum dollar 
amount required by the law. Higher limits are available. Ask your insurance agent for more information about the cost of higher 
limits. 

Other Coverages to Consider: 

• Collision - Collision covers damage to your vehicle caused in an accident, even if the collision was your fault or 
was due to a hit-and-run accident. 

• Comprehensive - Comprehensive covers damage from other causes including theft, vandalism, fire, falling 
objects, or hitting an animal, such as a deer.  

Auto Insurance Costs 

Many factors determine how much auto insurance costs, including the following: 

Driving Record 
Insurance companies may charge an extra fee, or surcharge, if you are involved in a chargeable accident or were 
ticketed for a serious traffic violation. 

Gender 
Young, single, male drivers generally pay more than any other group. 

Age 
Young drivers are often considered to be a higher insurance risk than older, more experienced drivers. 

Where You Live 
Generally, people in metropolitan areas pay more than those in less congested places. 

Age & Type of Car 
Newer, sportier vehicles cost more to insure. The less it would cost to repair or replace your vehicle, the lower 
the cost of your premium. 

 

Ways to Lower Your Auto Insurance Premium 

• Ask your agent about discounts. 
Many insurers offer discounts for good grades in school, often for maintaining a grade of B or better. Taking an 
approved driver safety class can also result in a discount. 

• Increase your deductibles. 
If you increase your deductible and pay for small losses yourself, your insurer may charge you less. This way you 
can cut your insurance premium costs and still be protected against large losses. 

• Never drive drunk. 
Not only is it illegal and unwise, but a conviction for drunk driving can wreak havoc on your insurance premiums. 
And remember, if you are under 21, Wisconsin’s Absolute Sobriety law means you cannot have a single drop of 
alcohol in your system when driving. 

Mopeds & Scooters 
 
Due to limited parking space and the inconvenience of driving a car to class, mopeds and scooters have become 
more popular on college campuses. Wisconsin's mandatory insurance law also applies to mopeds and 
scooters. Any insurer offering motorcycle coverage likely offers moped coverage as well. Ask your insurance agent 
for more information about moped insurance. 

 

 
 

https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/Glossary.aspx#claim
https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/Glossary.aspx#premium


PI-215 (R 09/2023)   3 

 
Have You Thought About Renter’s Insurance? 

 
If you live on campus in a dorm, your parents’ homeowner’s policy may still cover your belongings, although they should check 
with their insurance agent to make sure. If you rent an off-campus apartment, you will probably not be covered by your parents’ 
homeowner’s insurance policy. Your landlord’s insurance will only cover the building, not your possessions. 

Consider purchasing renter’s insurance to protect your personal belongings in case they are destroyed by a fire, stolen, or 
damaged by a tornado. Renter’s insurance also protects you for liability coverage in case someone is injured while on your 
property. Many building owners require tenants to have renter’s insurance to ensure liability coverage protecting the building 
owners’ interests. 

When you are deciding how much coverage to buy, there are a couple of terms you should know - Actual Cash Value (ACV) and 
Replacement Cost. Say your five-year-old TV is stolen from your apartment. 

• An actual cash value policy would give you what a five-year-old TV is worth today. 

• A replacement cost policy would reimburse you the difference between the ACV and the price of a new TV of the 
same kind and quality. Typically, you first receive the ACV and then you submit the receipt for your new TV to receive 
the reimbursement. Or you may choose not to replace the TV and just keep the ACV amount. 

• Premiums are higher for replacement cost coverage. 

Renter’s Insurance Costs 

The cost of renter’s insurance varies based on several factors, including: 

Building 
A fire-resistant apartment equipped with safety features like smoke detectors and deadbolt locks will get better rates. 

Location 
High-crime areas with a greater chance of theft will lead to higher premiums. The same is true for areas prone to 
natural disasters. 

Amount of Coverage 
The type of coverage (actual cash value versus replacement cost) and the amount of deductible you choose will 
affect the cost of your premium. 

Other Things to Keep in Mind 

• You can purchase a rider to extend your coverage to include expensive items like jewelry, computers, and 
other electronic equipment. 

• Prepare a property inventory before you have a loss. Write down all your major possessions and keep all 
receipts of your purchases. Taking pictures or video of your belongings is a good idea. Keep your inventory 
record in a safe place, like a fireproof safe, or give it to your parents to keep off-premises. 

• Flood damage is not covered by basic renter’s insurance. To protect against damage caused by flooding, you 
need to buy a flood insurance policy. The agent who sold you your renter’s insurance policy should be able to 
assist you. 

• Some companies allow roommates to purchase a policy together. Check with your insurance agent to 
determine what options are available. 
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Are You Still Covered Under Your Parents’ Health Insurance? 

 
 
A parent can keep an adult child on the family’s health insurance plan until the child turns 26. This applies to individual and 
group health insurance plans, vision plans, dental plans, and self-insured plans of the state, county, city, village, town, or school 
district. 

Coverage must also be provided to a child who was called to federal active duty in the National Guard or in a reserve component 
of the U.S. Armed Forces if the child was under 27 when they were called to duty and was attending an institution of higher 
learning on a full-time basis. The child must also return to school within 12 months of fulfilling active duty obligations. Some 
policies known as ‘grandfathered plans,’ may have additional limitations relating to dependent coverage. 

Check with your family’s health insurance company to see if you are still covered under your parents’ policy. 

If your parents are covered by a managed care plan (and most insurance plans are managed care plans), you will also need to 
verify if any network providers are located where you attend school. 

If you are going to a school in an area with no network providers, call your insurance company and find out what is covered 
when you are out of network. Most plans provide coverage for emergency care while you are out of the network, but NOT 
routine and follow-up care. These are only covered in the plan’s network service area. 

Be sure you have a copy of the relevant health insurance cards and know how to obtain any required approvals before seeking 
treatment. 

If you do not have health insurance through your parents… 

Purchase a Student Plan 
If you do not have health insurance through your parents’ health insurance policy or have limited coverage due to 
network service areas, you may want to buy a student health insurance plan. Student plans are sold by an insurer 
who has contracted with a college to offer coverage to its students. In general, these plans have more limited 
benefits and more exclusions than traditional health insurance plans. 

COBRA 
If you are dropped from your parents’ group health insurance, you may have the right to continue health insurance 
coverage if COBRA applies to your plan. 

If you are eligible for COBRA, you will be notified of your rights under the law and be given a limited window of 
time to opt for continued coverage. This coverage may be expensive as you must pay the full cost of the COBRA 
coverage. 

Purchase an Individual Plan 
If neither a family plan nor a school-sponsored plan is available, you should seriously consider buying an individual 
plan. Beginning in 2014, health care reform legislation provides most individuals eligibility for comprehensive 
individual health insurance coverage without any preexisting condition limitations or waiting periods. 

If you are losing existing coverage, you may qualify for a 60-day special enrollment period. Otherwise, you must 
wait to enroll until the next open enrollment period, which begins November 1 of each year. 

You can apply for individual health coverage by contacting an insurance agent or by accessing the federal 
website HealthCare.gov. Both insurance agents and the healthcare.gov Web site can explain your coverage options, 
premiums you will be required to pay, and any advanced premium tax credit subsidies or cost-sharing reductions 
for which you may be eligible. 
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Studying Abroad? 

If you participate in an international study program through the University of Wisconsin System or the Wisconsin 
Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, you will be required to purchase medical insurance. You 
should contact the study abroad coordinator for more information about the health insurance plan offered through 
the program. 

 
What About Life Insurance? 

 
If you are single and do not have dependents, you may not consider life insurance a priority. But taking out a life insurance policy 
with a guaranteed issue benefit when you are young is inexpensive and may protect you from being uninsurable in the future 
should you develop a debilitating illness or disabling injury. 

 
Insurance & Your Credit Score 

 
It is important to remember automobile and homeowner’s insurance companies may use consumer credit information in 
deciding whether to issue or renew policies. 

Although companies cannot use credit information as the sole reason to refuse an application, cancel a new insurance policy in 
its first 60 days of coverage, or nonrenew an existing policy, insurers may use this information as one of the criteria they consider 
as part of the underwriting process in Wisconsin. 

Since your credit score can impact the cost of insurance, it is vital to maintain a good credit score. There are several steps you 
can take to maintain a good credit score: 

• Pay monthly credit card bills on time and as agreed. 

• If you have previously missed payments, get current 
and stay current. 

• Maintain a low credit card balance. Don't max out your 
accounts. 

• Avoid signing up for new credit cards you do not need. 

Under federal law, an insurance company must tell you if it takes an “adverse action” against you due to your credit history. This 
would include refusing to offer a policy or charging a higher rate. If this happens, you are entitled to receive a free copy of your 
credit report from the credit bureau used to obtain your information. The notice of adverse action must provide information 
about how to obtain the free copy of your report. 

Additionally, consumers can request a free copy of their credit report once per year from annualcreditreport.com. It is a good 
idea to take advantage of this offer to ensure information in your credit report is accurate. 

 
Final Review 

 
Lastly, a few other things to keep in mind: 

Read Your Policy 
An insurance policy is a legal contract. It is written so your rights and responsibilities as well as those of the insurance 
company are clearly stated. 

Shop Around - It Pays 
Prices for the same coverage can vary greatly. A licensed independent insurance agent represents several different 
companies. 
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Make Sure an Agent or Company is Licensed 
All insurance companies and agents doing business in Wisconsin are licensed by the Office of the Commissioner of 
Insurance (OCI). Before signing an application for any insurance coverage, verify the company and the agent you are dealing 
with are licensed in Wisconsin. Licensing information about agents and companies can be found at oci.wi.gov/Consumers. 

Problems with Insurance 
If you are having a problem with your insurance, you should first contact your agent or the insurance company who sold you 
the policy. If you do not get satisfactory answers from the agent or company, you may file a complaint 
(oci.wi.gov/complaints) with OCI. OCI will investigate the complaint to see if any insurance laws or rules have been violated. 

 
Brief Glossary 

 
• COBRA: a federal law (short for Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985) allowing individuals insured 

under a group health plan to purchase an additional 18 (and sometimes 36) months of coverage after being dropped 
from the plan. 

• Credit report: a file containing your credit history, maintained by any of the three national credit bureaus. 

• Deductible: the out-of-pocket expense you must pay before insurance will pay for a claim. 

• Network: the hospitals, physicians and medical professionals, and suppliers the health plan has contracted with to 
provide health care services. 

• Premium: the price of an insurance policy, 

• Rider: additional coverage for items not otherwise covered by your policy. Also called a floater or endorsement. 

• Underwriting: the process insurance companies use in assessing risk factors of prospective buyers in determining 
whether to insure someone and how much to charge. 

 
   OCI Publications 
 
 
The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance produces and updates a variety of consumer publications. Among the publications 
you may find helpful are: 

• A Brief Guide to Renter’s Insurance: oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-017.aspx  

• Fact Sheet on Continuation and Conversion Rights in Health Insurance Policies: oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-023.aspx  

• Consumer’s Guide to Auto Insurance: oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-057.aspx  

• Understanding How Insurance Companies Use Credit Information: oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-204.aspx  
 

Disclaimer 
This guide is intended as a general overview of current law in this area but is not intended as a substitute for legal advice in any 
particular situation. You may want to consult your attorney about your specific rights. Publications are updated annually unless 
otherwise stated and, as such, the information in this publication may not be accurate or timely in all instances. Publications are 
available on OCI’s website at oci.wi.gov/Publications. If you need a printed copy of a publication, use the online order form 
(oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/Order-a-Publication.aspx) or call 1-800-236-8517. One copy of this publication is available free of 
charge to the general public. All materials may be printed or copied without permission. 

https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/ConsumersHome.aspx
https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-017.aspx
https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-023.aspx
https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-057.aspx
https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-204.aspx
https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/ConsumerPublications.aspx
https://oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/Order-a-Publication.aspx

	So You Want to Take Your Car to School
	Driving is nothing new to you as you go away to college, but how you pay for automobile insurance may be. In high school, chances are you were covered under your parents’ automobile insurance policy, and if you drive a car owned by them at college, yo...
	In Wisconsin, automobile insurance is mandatory. Also, Wisconsin has a financial responsibility law requiring all licensed motorists be able to pay for damages to others caused in an accident. This can be met through insurance, a surety bond, or self-...
	If you decide to meet the financial responsibility requirements through automobile insurance, it can cover these areas:   Liability
	Uninsured Motorists (UM)
	Underinsured Motorists (UIM)
	Medical Payments
	Auto Insurance Costs
	Ways to Lower Your Auto Insurance Premium

	Have You Thought About Renter’s Insurance?
	Renter’s Insurance Costs

	Are You Still Covered Under Your Parents’ Health Insurance?
	If you do not have health insurance through your parents…
	Studying Abroad?

	What About Life Insurance?
	Insurance & Your Credit Score
	Final Review
	Brief Glossary
	OCI Publications

