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Teenagers and Auto Insurance 
 

Earning the privilege to drive an automobile is a major milestone. Drivers have the responsibility to operate a vehicle 

safely and to pay for injuries or damages in the unfortunate event of an accident.  

Wisconsin’s Graduated Driver Licensing System 

Wisconsin’s young drivers are more likely to be in a crash than any other age group. 

• For two out of every three teen drivers killed in a crash, it is their first crash. 

• More than one teen driver dies in a crash each week. 

• Teen drivers experience more crashes involving inattentive driving, texting while driving, and driving at 

inappropriate speeds than any other segment of the population. 

Wisconsin’s Graduated Driver Licensing System can help reduce crashes involving young, inexperienced drivers. A 

graduated driver’s license allows novice drivers to gain knowledge and driving time under the supervision of an 

experienced mentor and has passenger and hour restrictions to reduce risk.  For more information on Wisconsin's 

Graduated Driver Licensing System, visit the Department of Transportation's website at wisconsindot.gov. 

  
Alcohol and Safety Laws 

Wisconsin has an Absolute Sobriety, or “Not a Drop” law. This means drivers under 21 may not have any 

alcohol in their systems when operating a motor vehicle.  

Using a seat belt is also required in Wisconsin. Protect yourself by buckling up every time you get into an 

automobile, whether you are the driver or a passenger.  

Financial Responsibility Law 

The financial responsibility law is designed to make sure any person licensed to drive in Wisconsin has enough 

insurance or enough money to pay for damages to others that are caused by an automobile. You can meet 

these requirements through an automobile insurance policy, a surety bond, or self-insurance. 

Purchasing Automobile Insurance 

Automobile insurance protects you if anything happens to you, your vehicle, someone else, or someone else’s 

automobile because of you. 

Your insurance policy must provide the following minimum liability coverages: 

• $25,000 for death or injury of one person; 

• $50,000 for death or injury of two or more persons; and 

• $10,000 for property damage. 

The law also requires uninsured motorist coverage of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury only.  
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Other Optional Coverages to Consider 

• Medical expense coverage pays medical expenses for you and your passengers regardless of who is at 

fault. This is minimal coverage and usually only covers expenses not covered by health insurance. 

• Underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) pays if another insured driver causes the accident but has lower 

bodily injury liability limits than your UIM limits. Your policy will pay the difference between the limits. 

• Collision coverage pays if your automobile is damaged in a collision. 

• Comprehensive coverage pays for damage to your automobile caused by something other than a crash, 

such as theft, vandalism, or hitting a deer. This is sometimes referred to as “other than collision” coverage. 

Saving Money 

You may be able to lower your premiums by: 

• keeping a clean driving record (no accidents or tickets) 

• keeping a clear claims history 

• maintaining a good credit history 

• asking your agent about discounts 

• checking the premium rates before you buy an automobile 

• Check out other tips to save money on automobile insurance at oci.wi.gov/Pages/Consumers/PI-218.aspx   

Premiums and Your Driving Record 

Your driving record is one of the main things an insurance company reviews when deciding how much to 

charge you for insurance. Your insurance company has the right to charge you extra even if you have only 

received one moving violation or were involved in just one accident in which you were considered more than 

50% at fault. 

Underage Drinking and Insurance Premiums 

Your parents’ auto insurance is greatly affected if you get an operating while intoxicated (OWI) citation. 

• The cost of the premium will increase, and the higher rate will remain in effect until you are no longer on 

their policy. 

• The insurance company might non-renew or cancel your parents’ policy, leaving them searching for new 

insurance. 

• Other insurance policies held by your parents may be affected. For instance, they may face increased 

premiums to their umbrella policy and other vehicles, such as boats and snowmobiles. 

Suspension vs. Revocation 

Revocation and suspension have the same effect on the privilege to drive in Wisconsin. The real differences 

between the two are the penalties for being convicted of driving while suspended or revoked and the 

requirements for reinstatement. Information about suspended or revoked driving privileges is available on the 

Wisconsin Department of Transportation’s website at wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/susp-or-

rvkd/susp-revoked.aspx. 

Under certain circumstances, you may be required to provide proof of insurance or financial responsibility 

(SR22 Certificate) to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation Division of Motor Vehicles. To find out if you 
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are required to file proof of insurance, how long you are required to file, and whether you have acceptable 

insurance on file, contact: 

Driver Services Bureau 

(608) 264-7447 

information.dmv@dot.wi.gov 

Policy Cancellation 

Your insurance company may elect to non-renew your policy once your policy term expires if your accident 

record or moving violations exceed the company’s standards. However, they must provide 60 days' notice 

before non-renewing your policy. 

 

Tickets and “at fault” accidents can seriously affect your policy. Your driving record may affect the insurance 

policies of your parents and siblings. Though they might be on a different policy, their premiums may 

increase, or their policies may even be canceled in rare instances because of your driving record. 

Accidents 

Accidents happen, so it’s best to be prepared by following these steps: 

• Always have your insurance information in your vehicle. 

• Call the police to report the accident. 

• Make sure you get the following information from the other driver: 

o name 

o address 

o telephone number 

o license plate number 

o driver’s license number 

o insurance information  

• Give the other driver the same information about you. 

• Notify your insurance agent as soon as possible. 

Remember, coverage goes with the vehicle—even if you were not the driver. However, the owner must have 

given you their permission to drive the vehicle. If the vehicle is owned by your parents, they must have given 

their permission. 

 

Information about proof of insurance is also available on the Wisconsin Department of Transportation's website at 

wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/susp-or-rvkd/proof-of-insurance.aspx  

For more information about preventing automobile accidents in Wisconsin, visit zeroinwisconsin.gov/.  
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