To assist individuals with frequently asked licensing questions, we've compiled the following:
- How do I apply for a resident license in Wisconsin?
- How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled?
- How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled for over one year?
- If I move from another state to Wisconsin, what are the licensing requirements?
- How do I apply for a nonresident license in Wisconsin?
- If I currently hold a nonresident license in Wisconsin and move to another nonresident state, does anything happen to my license?
- Does my agency need to be licensed?
- Are agency personnel required to be licensed?
- Do I need a license if I'm selling group insurance?
- Do I need a license to sell variable products in Wisconsin?
- Can I find my licensing information on-line?
- Can I link my Web site to OCI's home page?
- Can I obtain a list of licensed agents?
How do I apply for a resident license in Wisconsin?
Persons wishing to obtain a resident license for Life, Accident & Health, Property, Casualty, or Personal Lines P&C must first complete the prelicensing education and then the examination for each line. A list of the prelicensing education schools is available at https://www.sircon.com/wisconsin. Basic examination information is available at oci.wi.gov/agentlic/majorln.htm.
Those wishing to solicit any of the limited lines, including Legal Expense, Title, or Credit must pass the appropriate examination. The Candidate Handbook is available on our Web site at oci.wi.gov/agentlic.htm.
Persons wishing to solicit Variable Life/Variable Annuity, Crop, Surety, or Travel are not required to pass an examination and can file an application at www.sircon.com/Wisconsin.[Back to Top]
How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled?
If you were licensed within the last 12 months and had your license cancelled for nonpayment of the biennial regulation fees, noncompliance with continuing education, or failing to pay delinquent taxes, you can reapply without completing prelicensing or an examination. You can download the application (OCI 11-041R Resident Insurance Agent License Application Without Examination) on our Web site, at oci.wi.gov/agentlic/forms-agent.htm. The instructions and fee schedule are printed on the form.[Back to Top]
How do I reinstate a resident license that has been cancelled for over one year?
To be relicensed, you would be required to complete all of the prelicensing education for each line previously held and also sit for the law portion of each examination.[Back to Top]
If I move from another state to Wisconsin, what are the licensing requirements?
Persons moving to Wisconsin who held a license anytime within the last 12 months in another state are exempt from the prelicensing education and examination requirements. They would be required to surrender their previous resident license prior to making application. The application is available on our Web site at oci.wi.gov/agentlic/forms-agent.htm.
Persons moving to Wisconsin who held a license more that 12 months ago in another state must complete the prelicensing education and sit for the law portion of the examinations for each qualification previously held. The Candidate Handbook is available at Candidate Handbook (opens in new window) (external site).
In both cases, if the individual holds a nonresident license in Wisconsin, that license would remain in effect up to 60 days until the resident license is issued.[Back to Top]
How do I apply for a nonresident license in Wisconsin?
Individuals have two ways to apply for a nonresident license:
Log on to www.sircon.com to apply electronically and pay by credit card. This process generally takes about 1-5 working days.
Or, log on to oci.wi.gov/agentlic/forms-agent.htm to fill and print our nonresident application. The fee schedule and instructions are printed on the form. A letter of certification is NOT required. Paper applications take 4-10 weeks to process.[Back to Top]
If I currently hold a nonresident license in Wisconsin and move to another nonresident state, does anything happen to my license?
You have 30 days to notify us of your new resident address. Once changed, your license will go into a "60-day status." A letter will go to you explaining you have 60 days to provide us with evidence of your new resident license. Failure to provide that information within that time frame will result in license cancellation.[Back to Top]
Does my agency need to be licensed?
Corporate (agency) insurance licensing is not required in Wisconsin by our office. It is offered, however, even if a license is issued, it does not provide the corporation with any authority to act as an agent. It is meaningless. Commissions can be paid to a corporation with or without a license. Corporations cannot be appointed to insurers. An information sheet on this topic is available on our Web site at oci.wi.gov/agentlic/corplic.htm. Nonresident corporations can apply online at www.sircon.com.
Resident corporations would need to acquire this license in order to apply as a nonresident in states where this license is required.
All individuals must be licensed as intermediaries (agents).[Back to Top]
Are agency personnel required to be licensed?
The law is clear that anyone soliciting, negotiating, placing insurance or annuities, or advising on insurance needs and coverages must be licensed as an agent (s. 628.02, Wis. Stat.). Unlicensed persons working in an agent's office are not allowed to quote rates or provide advice on coverage limits, etc. Individuals would be able to provide any clerical services to the agent.[Back to Top]
Do I need a license if I'm selling group insurance?
Current law requires all individuals who are soliciting, negotiating, placing insurance or annuities, or advising on insurance needs and coverages to hold an intermediary (agent) license. This would include coverage being solicited such as credit, individual whole life, annuity or homeowners. If a bank is the group policyholder for credit insurance and receives a commission, each person is required to hold a license.
Section 628.02, Wis. Stat., includes an exception for administrative activities for group insurance if the policyholder receives only compensation related to the expenses of insurance sold. In this instance, unlicensed employees who are not paid incentives, bonuses or commissions for selling insurance, may perform the administrative function of "enrolling" an individual in the group for credit insurance, as long as there is a properly licensed person on the premises at the time the insurance is sold.[Back to Top]
Do I need a license to sell variable products in Wisconsin?
Effective September 1, 2009, OCI began issuing the Variable Life/Variable Annuity qualification. There is a 6-month transition period where an agent can solicit under either the previous requirements identified below or the new qualification. After April 1, 2010, anyone wishing to solicit these products must hold the Variable Life/Variable Annuity qualification.
To obtain the Variable Life/Variable Annuity qualification, agents will need to hold a Life license and provide verification of required registration by the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) registered for Series 6 or Series 7. Applicants can apply online at www.sircon.com/wisconsin. Select Apply for a License and follow the prompts.
An information sheet on this topic is available on our Web site at oci.wi.gov/agentlic/varcont.htm.[Back to Top]
Can I find my licensing information on-line?
You can view and/or print licensing information at our Web site, specifically at oci.wi.gov. When you get to the front page, click on the blue bar on the left entitled Agent/Agency Lookup and follow the prompts.[Back to Top]
Can I link my Web site to OCI's home page?
You are welcome to link to our Web site, but as a state regulatory agency and as a matter of policy, we do not add other entities to our Web site unless there is a compelling public interest in doing so. This is so that we are not in the position of appearing to endorse or promote a particular product or service.[Back to Top]
Can I obtain a list of licensed agents?
You are able to download this information free of charge from our Web site at oci.wi.gov/agentlic/agntlist.shtml.